Leeds lose ground in Pompey draw

Published Add your comment

Football News

Simon Grayson's Leeds lost a little ground in the npower Championship automatic promotion chase as they were twice forced to come from behind to claim a 2-2 draw against Portsmouth at Fratton Park.

Joel Ward put Portsmouth ahead after 26 minutes before Luciano Becchio equalised two minutes after the break. John Utaka prodded Portsmouth back in front but substitute David Somma was the Leeds hero when he shot home left-footed after 63 minutes.

Two delays, due to floodlight failure, did not stop the match from eventually finishing.

Nottingham Forest are also in the promotion picture, and savoured a 1-0 victory at Derby, with former Rams frontman Rob Earnshaw's 79th-minute strike separating the East Midlands rivals.

Paul Jewell enjoyed a dramatic debut as Ipswich boss as Carlos Edwards' stunning effort from almost 40 yards clinched a 3-2 win over Doncaster, for whom Billy Sharp scored twice.

Ian Harte was both hero and villain for play-off hopefuls Reading in their 1-1 draw with Hull. Harte's mistake let in Corry Evans to open the scoring after 51 minutes, but his 80th-minute penalty rescued a point.

Millwall were left to rue a third-minute missed penalty from Steve Morison as Leicester eased to a 4-2 win at the Walkers Stadium.

Souleymane Bamba scored twice and there were also goals from Lloyd Dyer and Ayegbeni Yakubu for the hosts. Millwall, whose goals came from James Henry and Jack Smith, had Jens Berthel Askou sent off after 72 minutes for violent conduct.

A late header from Billy Jones gave hope to bottom-placed Preston in a 1-1 draw at Middlesbrough. Crystal Palace and Bristol City were deadlocked at Selhurst Park, finishing 0-0.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Leicester City
Doncaster Rovers
Corry Evans
Ipswich Town
Ayegbeni Yakubu
Joel Ward
Bristol City
Jack Smith
Billy Jones
Lloyd Dyer
Ian Harte
Preston North End
Derby County
Steve Morison
Billy Sharp
Nottingham Forest
Jens Berthel Askou
James Henry
Jens Berthel Askou
Jack Smith
Crystal Palace
Carlos Edwards
Hull City
Leeds United
John Utaka
Luciano Becchio
Billy Jones

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again