Adrian's feet were off the line for Tammy Abraham's penalty in UEFA Super Cup

Adrian appeared to be clearly off his line for Tammy Abraham's spot kick

Adrian has had quite a week in his long footballing career.

The Spanish goalkeeper was brought in as a last-minute replacement for Simon Mignolet at Liverpool during the summer transfer window.

But less than 45 minutes into the new Premier League season, Adrian was forced into the limelight after Alisson Becker picked up a calf injury in the first-half against Norwich.

The Brazilian will now miss around eight weeks of action, meaning Adrian will be getting a lot of first-team minutes in the coming months.

His first task was to try and stop Chelsea's attack in the UEFA Super Cup last night and it wasn't the best of evenings for Adrian for a short while.

The 32-year-old gave away a penalty in extra-time for tripping Tammy Abraham, with Jorginho duly converting the spot-kick - replays showed the decision was incredibly harsh.

But a short while later, Adrian got his revenge as he stopped Abraham's decisive penalty in the shootout to win the Super Cup for Liverpool.

However, there is a bit of controversy surrounding his heroics in Istanbul.

Still images have quickly done the rounds in the aftermath of the game which clearly show Adrian off his line before Abraham strikes the ball.

IMAGES

Now, under the new penalty rules, which state one foot must be on the line up until contact is made with the ball, the penalty surely had to be re-taken? But VAR decided not to intervene.

During the Women's World Cup in the summer, Scotland's goalkeeper Lee Alexander was penalised for stepping off her line before saving a spot kick, which we reported on HERE.

Argentina's Florencia Bonsegundo infamously scored the re-take to make it 3-3, a score line which actually eliminated Scotland from the tournament.

So why wasn't the same level of strictness implemented in Istanbul, regardless of whether it was a 'glorified friendly' in the eyes of some?

Adrian with the UEFA Super Cup

We're only a week into the new season and the VAR debates are already building up.

Do you think Abraham should have been allowed to re-take his penalty? Let us know your thoughts in the comment box below.

News Now - Sport News