Cristiano Ronaldo wins Portuguese Player of the Year award for a record 10th time

Quinas de Ouro 2019

Cristiano Ronaldo has won a record 10th Portuguese Player of the Year award.

The Juventus forward collected his latest individual accolade at the annual Quinas de Ouro gala in Lisbon on Monday evening.

“This world is so fast, with the social media, the press, it's been wild,” Ronaldo said in his speech.

“It's been an extremely complicated year on a personal level. Don't let anyone pull you down.

“I can't help but mention that Sporting deserves a little prize. Next time.”

Ronaldo faced stiff competition for the award.

Atletico Madrid startles Joao Felix, Manchester City’s Bernardo Silva, Sporting Lisbon midfielder Bruno Fernandes and Wolves’ Ruben Neves were all in contention.

Quinas de Ouro 2019

But the award went to Ronaldo after he helped Juventus win an eighth straight Serie A title.

Former Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson sent Ronaldo a heartwarming message.

The 34-year-old has dominated the awards night since 2007, taking home the main prize in every year since then except for in 2010 and 2014.

In those years, Simao and Pepe respectively were successful.

Quinas de Ouro 2019

Ronaldo is hoping that this is only the first gong to come his way as awards season continues.

He missed out on UEFA’s Player of the Year award, which went to Liverpool defender Virgil Van Dijk, but has been named among the nominees to win FIFA’s The Best award.

Ronaldo will compete for the individual honour with Van Dijk and Barcelona’s Lionel Messi. The winner will be announced on September 23 at a ceremony in Milan.

Elsewhere, Lyon’s Jessica Silva was named Female Player of the Year.

Benfica enjoyed a hugely successful evening, with their men’s and women’s sides winning Team of the Year.

Benfica’s Bruno Lage was named Male Football Coach of the Year and Miguel Santos was named Female Coach of the Year for his efforts with Braga.

News Now - Sport News