Barcelona have signed 22 players since 2015 - and only seven remain at the club

The recent history of Barcelona is rather odd.

Since 2015, the Blaugrana have won three La Liga titles and three Copa del Reys, quite an achievement for any side.

But there’s still the school of thought that the Catalonian club have been serial underachievers in the last four years.

They have failed to win the Champions League and have been way too reliant on Lionel Messi.

Barca have arguably failed to make the most of the Argentine’s brilliance and one look at their recruitment since 2015 is eye-opening.

Journalist Eduardo Fdez-Abascal tweeted that since 2015, the Blaugrana have signed 22 first-team players – and only seven are still at the club.

Four of them are players from the 2018/19 transfer windows in Arturo Vidal, Arthur Melo and Clement Lenglet and Jean-Clair Todibo.

The other players to have survived Barca’s chopping and changing squad are Ousmane Dembele (2017/18), Nelson Semedo (2017/18) and Samuel Umtiti (2016/17).


It really is quite the list of wasted talent.

Philippe Coutinho, Gerard Deulofeu, Paco Alcacer, Paulinho, Andre Gomes, Malcom, Kevin-Prince Boateng, Arda Turan and Denis Suarez were all players bought to help support Messi – but they failed.

Some of the Argentine’s peak years have been spent trying to build partnerships with players simply not good enough for Barca, forcing him to rely on Luis Suarez for support.

In the case of Alcacer, the Blaugrana probably offloaded the striker far too soon after his success at Borussia Dortmund since leaving the Camp Nou.

The likes of Lucas Digne, Marlon Santos, Yerry Mina, Jeison Murillo and Aleix Vidal were supposed to reinforce the defence, but failed to oust the old guard.

And sadly for Jasper Cillessen, he just wasn’t quite good enough to get regular game time due to the imperious Marc-Andre ter Stegen.

Ernesto Valverde and the rest of the Barca hierarchy will be praying their recruits this summer will last longer than most of the ones purchased in the last four years.

Frenkie de Jong, Antoine Griezmann, Junior Firpo and Neto, it’s over to you guys…

News Now - Sport News