Andy Robertson appears to deactivate Twitter account after Liverpool's 2-0 defeat to Napoli

SSC Napoli v Liverpool FC: Group E - UEFA Champions League

Andy Robertson appears to have deactivated his Twitter account following Liverpool’s defeat to Napoli in the Champions League.

The left-back conceded a late penalty in Naples as the reigning European champions suffered a 2-0 defeat.

Robertson was adjudged to have fouled Jose Callejon. Many believe Callejon dived, including Jurgen Klopp, but referee Felix Brych pointed to the spot and VAR didn’t deem it a clear and obvious error.

Former Tottenham striker Fernando Llorente then nipped in ahead of Robertson to add a second goal for the hosts in injury time.

Robertson received a barrage of abusive tweets in the wake of his performance and it seems he has now deactivated his account.

The message, ‘This account doesn’t exist’ appears when you try to go on Robertson’s Twitter account, which has the handle @andrewrobertso5.

It’s a shame if Robertson has felt the need to remove his social media account as a result of the tweets aimed his way.


He’s been sensational for Liverpool, developing into one of the finest left-backs in Europe following his arrival at the club in 2017.

And there’s a strong argument that his foul on Callejon should never have been given as a penalty.

“I’m sorry, but when the player jumps before there is contact then it can not be a penalty,” Klopp said at full-time, per the Mirror.

“I can say a lot of things about it, but then it would look like a bad loser.

“When you see it again, you can see it is a clear mistake.

“But then human beings are the ones who decide if there is a mistake - and with VAR as long as human beings decide, then there is a potential for failure.”


Liverpool fans have rallied to support Robertson, 25, on Twitter.

“Andy Robertson could make that mistake 10 games in a row and I would still never doubt him,” one fan wrote.

“Best left back we've had in my lifetime.”

News Now - Sport News