Real Madrid's Gareth Bale was denied a classic Champions League strike vs PSG

FBL-EUR-C1-PSG-REAL

Gareth Bale has just had an absolute classic Champions League strike ruled out.

Real Madrid's visit to Paris Saint-Germain always promised to be a European blockbuster and it didn't take long for the clash at the Parc des Princes to fire into life.

Zinedine Zidane, making his return to the Champions League dugout, was left to watch as Real alumni Angel Di Maria fired the home side into a 2-0 lead before half-time.

However, it looked as Real Madrid had pulled themselves back into the game via Bale, who seemed for all intents and purposes to be leaving the Bernabeu this summer.

Yet he proved exactly just how much quality he brings to the game on his day, collecting the ball around the PSG penalty area and juggling it fantastically.

Gareth Bale's spectacular goal

Then, he spectacularly managed to lob the ball over a hapless Keylor Navas with his weak foot.

It was a truly remarkable strike and one of the best Bale - despite having scored so many belters over the years - has ever produced in his career.

The fact that the Welshman kept his cool and encourage his teammates to plough on for an equaliser was perhaps as miraculous as the strike.

However, in a moment of drama, it wasn't to count.

That foreboding three-later acronym of VAR quickly flashed up on the screen and true to the letters of the controversial handball laws, the goal was chalked off.

Say what you like about the decision but as a neutral, it's difficult to stomach such an unbelievable goal being chalked off the record books.

News Now - Sport News