Sergio Ramos and Luka Modric named in FIFA's World XI


It’s the FIFA awards on Monday in Milan.

The three finalists have been named for the main award - the men’s best player.

They are Virgil van Dijk, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

The other awards up for grabs are the best women’s player the best coach and goalkeeper in the men and women’s game, the Fan Award and the Puskas Award.

And there is also the FIFA FIFPro Men’s World XI that attracts plenty of attraction.

A total of 55 players have been nominated for the XI, that has been running since 2005.

While the full XI won’t be revealed until Monday, it’s being reported by Marca that Real Madrid duo Sergio Ramos and Luka Modric have made it.


In years gone by, that’s probably not too surprising.

But when you remember that Real Madrid finished third last season, 19 points behind champions Barcelona and crashed out of the Champions League to Ajax at the last-16 round - with Ramos having picked up a deliberate suspension - their inclusion certainly raises eyebrows.

And it gets you thinking which players will miss out.


Van Dijk will obviously be the other centre-back next to Ramos, so there’s no place for Matthijs de Ligt, Aymeric Laporte, Gerard Pique or Thiago Silva among others.

And with Modric’s inclusion, only two others can join him from the 15-man midfield shortlist. That means only two of Kevin de Bruyne, Frankie de Jong, Eden Hazard, N’Golo Kante, Toni Kroos, Paul Pogba or Bernardo Silva can join Modric.

It the reports are true, it will be Ramos’ tenth inclusion making him the third most featured player in the World XI behind, yep you’ve guessed it, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

As for Modric, this would be his fifth consecutive inclusion in the World XI after he claimed the main ‘The Best’ award last year.

News Now - Sport News