Women's Sports: Lisa Leslie To Be Inducted Into U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall Of Fame

BIG3 - Week Seven - Milwaukee

The eight-time WNBA All-Star, three-time League MVP, the two-time champion, 2015 Basketball Hall of Famer and four-time Olympic basketball gold medalist Lisa Leslie is among the list of athletes named to the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall of Fame, class of 2019.

Lisa Leslie, along with other named athletes, will be honoured and inducted at an awards dinner Friday, Nov. 1, at the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Training Center in Colorado Springs. The class of 2019 includes nine individuals, one team, two legends, one coach and one special contributor, and together, represents 12 different sports. 

Leslie in 2008 became the first consecutive four-time Olympic basketball gold medal winner in history after also claiming gold medals in 1996, 2000 and 2004, and is one of just four athletes with four Olympic basketball gold medals (Sue Bird, Teresa Edwards, Diana Taurasi).

Lisa Leslie is the Head Coach for Triplets in the BIG3 professional basketball league, as well as a studio analyst for Orlando Magic broadcasts on Fox Sports Florida. Already a Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame and Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame inductee, she owns the top three spots on the list of most points scored by a U.S. woman in a single competition, including 156 in 1996, 126 in 2000 and 125 in 2004.

She also holds U.S. single competition records for points averaged (19.5 ppg.), most blocked shots (14) and averaged blocks (1.8 bpg); and also, Lisa is the all-time U.S. record-holder for points (488 in four Olympiads), rebounds (241) and blocked shots (37).

Further, among all-time world leaders, Leslie ranks fourth for scoring and 6th for single-game points. Leslie’s historic USA Basketball career, which launched in 1989, includes a pair of FIBA World Cup gold medals, and she was the 2002 World Cup MVP.

They have previously elected basketball members of the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Hall of Fame to include athletes Teresa Edwards and David Robinson, coach Henry Iba, and 1956, 1960, 1964 and 1992 U.S. Olympic men’s basketball teams.

This summer, Lisa Leslie added another award to her already fantastic basketball legacy as she was named the Coach of the Year in the BIG3.

News Now - Sport News