Liverpool's selection of goalkeepers every season since 2009/10


Liverpool have come a long way over the past 10 years.

Between seasons 2009/10 and 2012/13, the Reds finished seventh, sixth, eighth and seventh in the Premier League respectively.

The following campaign (2013/13) they came second behind Manchester City, but in the following two seasons Liverpool dropped back down to sixth and then eighth.

Things have changed under Jurgen Klopp, though.

Since replacing Brendan Rodgers in 2015, the German has transformed Liverpool from a team struggling to make the top four to Champions League winners.

A first league title since 1989/90 looks to be on the cards, too, with Liverpool currently top of the Premier League having won all six of their opening games.

Klopp has formed an incredible side at Anfield and he's inevitably had to spend a lot of money to get there.

One of his most important signings was Alisson Becker for £65m in 2018, following Loris Karius' disastrous performance against Real Madrid in the Champions League final.

A world-class goalkeeper was the last remaining piece of the puzzle for Liverpool and sure enough, Alisson was phenomenal in his debut season.


The Brazil international has been missing since the opening day of this campaign, but luckily for Klopp, summer signing Adrian has stepped up to the plate.

Liverpool have a strong selection of goalkeepers at present, including 20-year-old Caoimhin Kelleher, who impressed on his full debut against MK Dons in midweek.

Compared to Liverpool's goalkeeping trio of Simon Mignolet, Adam Bogdan and Danny Ward in 2015/16, for example, it just goes to show how much they've improved in that department.

GiveMeSport has compiled Liverpool's goalkeeping options in every season since 2009/10 - check it out below.


2009/10: Pepe Reina, Diego Cavalieri

2010/11: Pepe Reina, Brad Jones, Peter Gulacsi

2011/12: Pepe Reina, Brad Jones, Doni

2012/13: Pepe Reina, Brad Jones, Peter Gulacsi

2013/14: Simon Mignolet, Brad Jones

2014/15: Simon Mignolet, Brad Jones, Danny Ward

2015/16: Simon Mignolet, Adam Bogdan, Danny Ward

2016/17: Loris Karius, Simon Mignolet, Alex Manninger

2017/18: Loris Karius, Simon Mignolet, Adam Bogdan, Danny Ward

2018/19: Alisson Becker, Simon Mignolet, Caoimhin Kelleher

2019/20: Alisson Becker, Adrian, Caoimhin Kelleher, Andy Lonergan

From the calamitous Mignolet and Bogdan to the consistent Alisson and Adrian in the space of four years - very well played, Jurgen.

News Now - Sport News