Powell's fine start comes to an end

Published Add your comment

Football News

Chris Powell's record-breaking start as Charlton boss ground to an abrupt halt at Hartlepool on Tuesday as the home side's 2-1 win dented the Addicks' automatic promotion push.

Powell had won all four games since being appointed at The Valley - the best start for a new boss in 105 years - but it counted for nothing as Gary Liddle's 62nd minute header claimed victory.

Andy Monkhouse had given the visitors a warning of what was to come when he struck the opener in the 14th minute. Nathan Eccleston hit a 54th minute equaliser but it was not enough to move his side out of fifth place.

Second-placed Bournemouth's hopes of drawing level with Brighton at the top of the table were put on hold when their game at rock-bottom Bristol Rovers was the victim of waterlogging. Exeter's clash with Swindon was also called off.

Darren Ferguson's Peterborough took advantage of surprise slip-ups elsewhere to move into the play-off places with a 2-0 win at Yeovil - but they left it late with both goals coming in the last five minutes from Craig Mackail-Smith and Grant Basey.

Oldham's push for an automatic promotion place was hit by a 1-0 defeat to Carlisle at Boundary Park. Craig Curran struck to win it for the Cumbrians 10 minutes from time.

And Milton Keynes Dons' hopes were also hit as they twice lost the lead in a 3-2 home defeat to Leyton Orient. Strikes from Dean Lewington and Jabo Ibehre were both cancelled out by Jimmy Smith before Jonathan Tehoue's 74th minute winner.

Craig Westcarr and a Nathan Clarke own goal gifted Notts County a 2-0 win over Colchester while there was more woe for Sheffield Wednesday who were dumped 3-0 at Tranmere and are in danger of getting sucked into a relegation battle.

In a vital match at the bottom, Walsall gave their survival hopes a huge boost with a tight 1-0 win over fellow strugglers Dagenham and Redbridge. William Grigg hit the winner nine minutes from time.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Yeovil Town
Colchester United
Bristol Rovers
Milton Keynes Dons
Sheffield Wednesday
Nathan Eccleston
Chris Powell
Nathan Clarke
Jabo Ibehre
League One
Craig Westcarr
Darren Ferguson
Swindon Town
Andy Monkhouse
Jonathan Tehoue
Gary Liddle
Dean Lewington
Craig Curran
Carlisle United
Oldham Athletic
William Grigg
Craig Mackail-Smith
Grant Basey
Tranmere Rovers
Charlton Athletic
Leyton Orient
Notts County
Brighton & Hove Albion
Nathan Clarke
Jimmy Smith

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again