Real Madrid's Luka Modric set to become 17th winner of the Golden Foot

Club Atletico de Madrid v Real Madrid CF  - La Liga

According to Marca, Luka Modric will soon have another individual award on his hands.

The 2018 Ballon d'Or winner has experienced a quiet 12 months at Real Madrid, but will still be rewarded with one of the most prestigious accolades in the sport before the year is out.

That's because the 2019 Golden Foot award seems to be heading his way and the World Cup runner-up is due to collect the trophy during a ceremony in Monaco on Tuesday night.

Presenters Jose Altafini, Paulo Roberto Falcao, Carolina Morace and Patrick Vieira will hand over the award to Modric for his impressive services to football.

The Golden Foot is an award exclusively given to players over the age of 29 and, in the words of the official website, is exclusively 'dedicated to the best footballers ever.'

Modric set for Golden Foot

However, the pantheon of winners isn't quite what you'd expect because both Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi have never been crowned winners despite meeting the criteria for a few years now.

It's quite a weird situation when you consider the website shows off the ceremony by saying: “All the best footballers in the world have been and will be here." You sure about that?

Don't get us wrong, we're pretty sure Ronaldo and Messi will collect the Golden Foot award at some point in the coming years, but you'd think they'd be the first in the queue when they passed 29.


17 Golden Foot winners

Nevertheless, that's not the case and it makes the 17 winners all the more curious, so we've decided to flick through the history books to see who achieved what Messi and Ronaldo haven't.

2003 - Roberto Baggio

One year before hanging up his boots at Brescia, 'The Divine Ponytail' was decorated for a remarkable career that brought spells with Juventus and both Milan clubs.

Antonio Conte of Juventus and Roberto Baggio of Brescia in action

2004 - Pavel Nedved

Much like Modric, Nedved collected the Golden Foot just one year after bagging the Ballon d'Or and his performances with Juventus certainly warranted such a rush of silverware.

Inter Milan's Serbia&Montenegro midfield

2005 - Andriy Shevchenko

The timing of this seems a little awkward when you consider what happened that year in Istanbul, but the Ukrainian was still justly acknowledged for his outrageous goal-scoring record.

Livorno v AC Milan

2006 - Ronaldo Nazario

One of the greatest players the beautiful game has seen, Ronaldo scooped the Golden Foot in the same year he became the World Cup's greatest ever goalscorer at the time.

Round of 16 Brazil v Ghana - World Cup 2006

2007 - Alessandro del Piero

The second Juventus player on this list and one of the 21st century's classiest footballers. Del Piero still had another four years at the top level after taking home the accolade.

Juventus' forwards and captain Alessandr

2008 - Roberto Carlos

Arguably the greatest full-back the sport has ever seen, Carlos was worthy of the trophy for his left foot alone. Oh, and winning both the World Cup and Champions League wasn't bad either.

Brazilian defender Roberto Carlos signs...

2009 - Ronaldinho

The days of Ronaldinho bagging the Ballon d'Or and World Player of the Year had long gone by 2009, but decorating the legend himself with a Golden Foot plaque was a no-brainer.

A.C. Milan's Brazilian forward Ronaldinh

2010 - Francesco Totti

In a year to forget for the Italian national team, one of their classiest alumni was applauded for a memorable career that went on to span 25 consecutive seasons with AS Roma.

Juventus FC v AS Roma - Serie A

2011 - Ryan Giggs

Giggs might not be the most talented player on this list, yet his service to Manchester United across three decades as well as 13 Premier League crowns was well worth acknowledging.

Manchester United's Welsh midfielder Rya

2012 - Zlatan Ibrahimovic

The amusing thing about this selection is that Ibrahimovic's highest-scoring season was still yet to come. Nevertheless, his displays with Inter Milan and Juventus had certainly earned him a win.


2013 - Didier Drogba

Just one year after winning the Champions League with a fairytale performance in Munich, the legendary Chelsea striker was taking home some more silverware for his efforts.

Senegal v Ivory Coast - FIFA 2014 World Cup Qualifier: Play-off Second Leg

2014 - Andres Iniesta

The Golden Foot couldn't look themselves in the mirror without rewarding one of the most gifted players in football history. But the fact Xavi was never given the same award is simply criminal.

FC Barcelona v APOEL FC - UEFA Champions League

2015 - Samuel Eto'o

A predatory goal-scorer across spells with Barcelona, Inter Milan, Real Madrid, Cameroon and Chelsea as well as one of the greatest ever African footballers. 

UC Sampdoria v Cagliari Calcio - Serie A

2016 - Gianluigi Buffon

It was about time that goalkeepers were acknowledged by the time 2016 rolled around and we're pretty sure nobody has done it better than Buffon since the award's inception.

Italy v Germany - International Friendly

2017 - Iker Casillas

And just like that, a second goalkeeper was rewarded. Casillas won everything there was to win with Real Madrid and Spain, captaining Champions League and World Cup triumphs along the way.

FC Porto v Deportivo La Coruna - Pre-Season Friendly

2018 - Edinson Cavani

We don't have a problem with Cavani being recognised for his consistently insane scoring record, but how on earth did he beat Ronaldo and Messi to last year's trophy?


2019 - Luka Modric

This pretty much completes the set of individual trophies for a Real Madrid player who peaked later than most. Modric will deserve all the praise he gets in Monaco later today.

Real Madrid CF v Real Betis Balompie  - La Liga

What an incredible group of footballers.

From World Cup winners to the best ever in their positions, the Golden Foot has undoubtedly tipped its hat to an exclusive cohort of players that deserve all the praise in the world.

But for all their brilliance, can any of the last four winners look themselves in the eye and say they deserved it over Ronaldo and Messi? Everybody knows the answer to that.

News Now - Sport News