The Shield debuted on the WWE main roster on this day at 2012's Survivor Series


On this day in 2012, Roman Reigns, Seth Rollins, and Dean Ambrose made their debuts on WWE's main roster as one of the companies most iconic stables, The Shield.

Roman Reigns, Seth Rollins, and Dean Ambrose made their main roster debuts at Survivor Series in 2012, coming to the aid of CM Punk.

At the time of their debut, Punk was defending the WWE Championship in Survivor Series' main event in a Triple Threat match vs John Cena and Ryback.

The Shield made their debut near the end of the match after Ryback had delivered a Shellshock to Cena in the middle of the ring.

As they did during their prime, The Hounds of Justice made their entrance on the show through the crowd, jumping The Big Guy in the ring after had hit his Shellshock.

Reigns, Rollins and Ambrose then cleared an announce table outside the ring and performed their iconic Triple Powerbomb on top of it with Ryback.

With Cena still down in the middle of the ring, Punk slowly slithered his way back inside the squared circle and pinned Cena in order to retain his WWE Championship.

Knowing they had done their job on the night to help Punk retain his title, The Shield made their exit through the crowd to conclude the show.


With their debut at 2012's Survivor Series, The Hounds of Justice made an instant impact on the WWE roster, and they would only keep climbing higher not only as a stable but as singles stars too.

The Shield would eventually split when Rollins turned on his Hounds of Justice brothers in June 2014, which brought an end to one of the most iconic stables in WWE history.

Survivor Series 2012 began the careers of three icons of recent WWE history, with all three of them achieving great success in the WWE.


Reigns has become a four-time world champion in WWE, having held the WWE Championship three times and the Universal Championship once.

He's also won the United States Championship, the Intercontinental Championship, the WWE Tag Team Championship (with Rollins), and he's also won the Royal Rumble.


Rollins has also become a four-time world champion in WWE, winning the WWE Championship twice and the Universal Championship twice.

He's also a two-time Intercontinental Champion, one-time United States Champion, five-time WWE/Raw Tag Team Champion (with Reigns, Ambrose (twice), Jason Jordan and Braun Strowman), a Money in the Bank winner and a Royal Rumble winner.


Ambrose, now competing under the name Jon Moxley, left WWE in early 2019 to join AEW, but he also achieved success in the company.

He won the WWE Championship, the United States Championship, the Intercontinental Championship three times, and the Raw Tag Team Championship twice (with Rollins). He was also a Money in the Bank winner.


The Shield's members may all be individual stars now, but fans will never forget the years they were together as one of the most dominant stables in WWE history, and it all started seven years ago today at Survivor Series.

News Now - Sport News