Rangers remain five clear

Published Add your comment

Football News

QPR remain five points clear at the top of the npower Championship after they drew 1-1 at bottom side Preston while Nottingham Forest moved into second place.

The teams entered the game in vastly different form - the Hoops unbeaten in the league since January 1 while the Lilywhites have not won since December 11, a run comprising six defeats and three draws.

Neil Warnock's side went ahead in the 37th minute when Heidar Helguson swept home Ishmael Miller's cross. However, the Lilywhites levelled through Barry Nicholson who lobbed the ball over Paddy Kenny.

Robert Earnshaw scored the winning goal as Nottingham Forest beat Cardiff 2-1 at the City Ground. Wes Morgan climbed highest to head home Lewis McGugan's corner before the Bluebirds levelled when they were awarded a penalty following Chris Gunter's handball and Peter Whittingham sent Lee Camp the wrong way. Forest though were back in front when Earnshaw slotted home three minutes later.

Leeds and Norwich shared a 2-2 draw at Elland Road while Swansea moved into third after a comprehensive 3-0 win over Doncaster.

Ipswich and Hull shared a 1-1 draw. Jason Scotland put Ipswich ahead but the Tigers levelled with a free header five minutes from time.

Reading and Watford also drew 1-1. Watford, without a win in five league games, took the lead through Andreas Weimann who slammed home the rebound after his first shot had been saved. However, the Royals levelled shortly after half time when Noel Hunt slotted home from close range.

Struggling Middlesbrough enjoyed a 3-2 win at Millwall thanks to goals from Tony McMahon, Scott McDonald and Leroy Lita won the game when he glanced home in the 83rd minute.

Portsmouth beat Barnsley 1-0, Kanu flicking home with six minutes to go.

Scunthorpe and Derby drew 0-0 but Sheffield United are in a dire position after losing 1-0 to Darren Ambrose's fine goal and they are now five points from safety.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Andreas Weimann
Norwich City
Doncaster Rovers
Ipswich Town
Peter Whittingham
Heidar Helguson
Wes Morgan
Barry Nicholson
Scunthorpe United
Darren Ambrose
Tony McMahon
Cardiff City
Robert Earnshaw
Lee Camp
Scott McDonald
Preston North End
Derby County
Nottingham Forest
Chris Gunter
Queens Park Rangers
Sheffield United
Leroy Lita
Ishmael Miller
Hull City
Lewis McGugan
Leeds United
Jason Scotland
Swansea City
Noel Hunt

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again