Lionel Messi was booked for diving during Barcelona's Champions League fixture against Borussia Dortmund.
The Argentine went down under a challenge - or lack of one - from goalkeeper Roman Burki inside the penalty area.
However, rather than awarding a spot-kick, the referee gave a free-kick to the visitors and showed Messi a yellow card.
After a VAR check, the decision was confirmed. You can see the incident below:
Despite going into the book for simulation, it actually seems that Messi wasn't trying to deceive the referee.
Yes - he went down without being touched, but only because he planted his foot into the ground and slipped as he tried to round the goalkeeper.
The Barca captain then got straight back up and didn't appeal for a penalty. In fact, he even appeared to tell the referee not to give the spot-kick before being shown a yellow card.
Perhaps a booking for diving was a little bit harsh then? Football fans will no doubt be debating that for the next few days.
But there can be no debating how well Messi played over the 90 minutes. In Barca's 3-1 win vs Dortmund, he assisted Luis Suarez's opening goal and added a second before half-time.
Then to wrap the game up, he provided another assist, this time to Antoine Griezmann. You can check out Messi's brilliant goal below:
Pure class from the Argentine and with his goal against BVB, Messi set a new Champions League record.
He's become the first player in the competition's history to score against 34 different opponents - not even Mr Champions League himself - Cristiano Ronaldo - has done that.
Not only did Messi break a personal record on Wednesday, but he also helped his side as they confirmed qualification for the knockout stages as group winners.
All in all, it wasn't a bad evening for the Blaugrana's captain, despite his yellow card.News Now - Sport News