Megan Rapinoe wins the 2019 Women's Ballon d'Or


Megan Rapinoe has won the 2019 Women's Ballon d'Or. 

The United States soccer team star beat strong competition in Lucy Bronze and Alex Morgan, who came second and third respectively.

Rapinoe's win caps off a fantastic year, in which she shone at the Women's World Cup in France. 

The 34-year-old guided her nation to success while winning the Golden Boot and Golden Ball, which recognises her as the best player at the tournament. 

Just a few months later, she was named The Best FIFA Women's Player and took her place in the FIFPro World XI. 

Winning the Women's Ballon d'Or was almost inevitable. 

2019 is only the second year that the prize has been awarded and Rapinoe follows in the footsteps of Ada Hegerberg, who scooped the first-ever prize. 

The Reign FC midfielder wasn't in attendance on Monday night but did accept the award via video message, thanking fans and peers.

Rapinoe was outstanding as USWNT won the World Cup

"I'll do my best to get there next year," she said. 

The full shortlist of players nominated can be seen below:

Kosovare Asllani, Sarah Bouhaddi, Lucy Bronze, Nilla Fischer, Pernille Harder, Tobin Heath, Ada Hegerberg, Amandine Henry, Sofia Jakobsson, Sam Kerr, Rose Lavelle, Dzsenifer Marozsan, Marta, Lieke Martens, Vivianne Miedema, Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe, Wendie Renard, Sari van Veenendaal and Ellen White. 

Rapinoe had a superb summer

Congratulations on an outstanding year, Megan. 

News Now - Sport News