On this day in 2009 - Barcelona completed the only 'sextuple' in history with Club World Cup win

It’s ten years to the day since Barcelona made history as the only ‘sextuple’ winners in history.

They lifted all six available trophies in 2009 in what is surely the greatest single year a team has ever had.

What makes it all the more incredible is that this was Pep Guardiola’s first calendar year in charge at Barcelona.

In fact, it was his first year in charge of a senior side anywhere and he still won absolutely everything – on his first try.

The first trophy of the year was the Copa del Rey, won on May 13th thanks to a 4-1 demolition of Athletic Bilbao.

Athletic took the lead but goals from Yaya Toure, Lionel Messi, Bojan Krkic and Xavi sealed the trophy.

Three days later, they were champions of La Liga as Real Madrid fell to a 3-2 defeat at the hands of Villarreal.

Barcelona clinched the Treble later in the month, defeating English champions Manchester United in the Champions League final – goals from Samuel Eto’o and Messi sealing it.

Roll on the next season then, and Barce started it in style by beating Athletic 5-1 over two legs to win the Spanish Super Cup and their fourth trophy of 2009.

The UEFA Super Cup went to Catalonia, too, just five days later with a 1-0 win over Shakhtar Donetsk after extra time – Pedro scoring the goal.

And then, on December 19th 2009, they won number six as they squeezed past Estudiantes in the Club World Cup final.

The Argentines took the lead in Abu Dhabi and Barcelona needed an 89th-minute equaliser from Pedro to force extra-time.

And then, with ten minutes to go before penalties, Messi struck to win the game and the Club World Cup.

Six trophies in one season. It’s an incredible record and something no one else has managed.

Three clubs have come close. Inter won five in 2010 but lost the UEFA Super Cup to Atletico Madrid.

Then Bayern Munich won five in 2013 – but Guardiola himself failed to deliver the German Super Cup as they lost to Borussia Dortmund.

Barcelona had another go, too, in 2015, only to lose the Spanish Super Cup 5-1 to Athletic.

And it Barcelona in 2009 remain the only team to do it. The best ever? It’s hard to argue against it.

News Now - Sport News