Nick Kyrgios misses final-set 'tweener' before absolutely losing it with the umpire

2020 Australian Open - Day 6

Nick Kyrgios is quite the character, isn't he?


The tempestuous Australian is never far from the headlines due to his frightfully short temper which always seems to get in the away of his immense talent.

On his best days, Kyrgios can be nigh on unplayable and has shown that with some massive scalps in the past.

Unfortunately, he is just a bit bonkers and his wayward temperament has prevented him from truly fulfilling his massive potential.

He has to be one of the most frustrating players on the tour and, on Saturday morning, he showed exactly why.

Kyrgios was locked in a fierce battle with Russian Karen Kachanov and was on course to clinch the titanic clash in the final set.


However, he made life so much more difficult for himself when, with the court at his mercy, he went for a silly 'tweener' shot that he got horribly wrong.

Only seconds later he was given a time penalty between serves and he duly went into meltdown mode.

Kyrgios had been attending to a bloodied hand when the chair umpire penalised him and he of course resorted to his usual dose of shouting and swearing.

You can see the dramatic two minute incident below:

Madness.

Only Kyrgios is capable of accusing a chair umpire of being stupid.

Fortunately, the penalty was rescinded after the umpire admitted that he had not seen Kyrgios bleeding hand.

2020 Australian Open - Day 6

The Australian then went on to claim the final set and book a place in the next round with fierce rival, Rafael Nadal.

The pair have plenty of history and the match-up could prove to be quite a stormy affair.

You can be certain that whatever happens, the ever-reliable Kyrgios temper will make a mandatory appearance.

However, should the version of Kyrgios that is actually quite good at tennis turn up, Nadal could be in for quite a battle.

News Now - Sport News