Women's Sport: Australia's T20 World Cup stars sign for The Hundred

Following the success of the T20 World Cup, The Hundred has announced its latest international signings with some big names from Australia’s winning team.

Three players from the World Cup-winning Australian side will join the new competition – Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner and Beth Mooney. South African all-rounders Marizanne Kapp and Chloe Tryon have also been announced.

Mooney who is ranked the number one batter in international T20 will play for Welsh Fire, joining fellow Australians Jess Jonassen and Meg Lanning, their World Cup captain. At the Northern Superchargers, there will also be a strong Aussie contingent as Nicola Carey joins the already-announced Alyssa Healy.

Gardner will play for Birmingham Phoenix, Tryon for London Spirit and Kapp for the Oval Invincibles. 

Mooney said: “I’m really excited to take part in the first season of The Hundred. It looks like it is developing into a high quality, world-class competition.

“As Head Coach, Matthew Mott is building a really strong side at Welsh Fire and I can’t wait to get out there with my new teammates.”

Each team in The Hundred, which will take place for the first time in July and August this year, is allowed to sign three international players. 

Beth Barrett-Wild, the head of The Hundred women’s competition, said: “It’s fantastic to see five more international stars signing up to play in The Hundred this summer. The competition is really building momentum, and it’s very exciting to see the growing list of world-class talent involved across the eight teams.

“We’ve now confirmed the names of 18 overseas players who will compete in the women’s competition, including the likes of Meg Lanning, Suzie Bates, Stafanie Taylor and Lizelle Lee; with six still to go, the standard of cricket is set to be very high.”

Some of the matches will be available to watch on free-to-air TV, as the BBC has rights to show up to eight live women’s matches.

The Hundred organisers also recently announced that men’s and women’s teams will be playing for equal prize money.

News Now - Sport News