Sir Alex Ferguson has been voted Britain's greatest manager of all time

On the weekend, BBC asked football fans to vote for the Britain’s greatest post-war manager of all-time.

They selected 14 British managers, with Alex Ferguson, Brian Clough and Alf Ramsey all on the list.

The voting closed today and it was Ferguson who came out on top.

The Scottish manager enjoyed an incredibly successful eight-year spell with Aberdeen.

Ferguson helped them to 11 major honours from 1978-1986, including three Scottish Premier Leagues and a European Cup Winners’ Cup triumph.

He then cemented himself as one of the best managers of all-time with a brilliant stint at Manchester United.

Having joined the Red Devils in 1986, Ferguson went on to lead the club to 38 trophies.

That included 13 Premier League triumphs and two Champions League victories.

You can view the how the voting went below:

=13. Harry Catterick – 0%

=13. George Graham – 0%

=8. Alf Ramsey – 1%

=8. Matt Busby – 1%

=8. Kenny Dalglish – 1%

=8. Howard Kendall – 1%

7. Bill Nicholson – 2%

6. Bobby Robson – 3%

=5. Don Revie – 5%

=5. Bill Shankly – 5%

4. Brian Clough – 10%

3. Jock Stein – 12%

2. Bob Paisley – 19%

1. Alex Ferguson – 40%

Everton legend Catterick and George Graham, a two-time English top-flight winner with Arsenal, both got 0% of the votes.

Four managers managed 1% of the votes, including England’s World Cup winning manager Ramsey and Man United legend Busby.

Robson, who managed the likes of Barcelona, Porto, Newcastle and England, came sixth in the voting.

Just ahead of him was Shankly, who guided Liverpool to promotion to the English first division in 1962 and then went on to win three top-flight titles.

Nottingham Forest legend Clough just missed out on a podium place, finishing just behind Celtic legend Stein.

Paisley is Liverpool’s greatest ever manager, winning three European Cups and six English titles in nine years, but he finished well behind Ferguson.

And let’s be honest: Ferguson is a worthy winner.

He conquered Scotland with Aberdeen. His league triumph with the club in 1985 is the last time a club other than Rangers or Celtic have won the title.

And he would later achieve some incredible feats in the Premier League with Man United.

His record of 13 Premier League titles will likely never, ever be beaten.

News Now - Sport News