Liverpool's title wait: It's exactly 30 years since the Reds won their last league title

If not for the coronavirus suspension, Liverpool would probably be Premier League champions by now.

The Reds were just two wins away from securing the title following Manchester City’s defeat to Manchester United on March 8.

Liverpool supporters had already pencilled in March 21, the date they were due to face Crystal Palace, as the special date.

But a global pandemic struck and nobody is quite sure what will happen next.

‘Project Restart’, a plan to resume the Premier League season, has been launched in an attempt to see out the remainder of the 2019/20 season, with most teams having nine games still to play.

It’s thought that Liverpool won’t have to worry about not being crowned champions, with UEFA keen to ensure that the season is completed.

But the wait hasn’t been easy for supporters, many of whom have had to wait three long decades to see their team win the title.

In fact, today (April 28, 2020) marks exactly 30 years since Liverpool won their 18th league title.

Liverpool marched to the trophy in the 1989/90 campaign, with Kenny Dalglish in charge and John Barnes starring with 22 goals.

If you had told anyone associated with the club then that they wouldn’t win it again until 2020, they would have been distraught.

If you had told anyone associated with the club that Manchester United would have more titles come 2020, they would have been disgusted.

The Red Devils have won 13 titles since Liverpool’s last triumph to leapfrog them with 20 in total.

It’s not as if Liverpool haven’t come close to winning it again. They’ve finished runners-up five times since 1989/90, including last season, when 97 points wasn’t enough to finish above Man City.

And who can forget the 2013/14 campaign, when all Steven Gerrard had to do was maintain his footing.

It must feel like torture for Liverpool fans being made to wait that much longer.

News Now - Sport News