ITV will start showing the whole Euro '96 tournament from today

Gareth Southgate

It’s been a long time since we’ve been able to watch a live match of football.

The last Premier League match took place more than two months ago when Leicester thrashed Aston Villa 4-0 on a Monday night.

What have fans been doing in the last two months to get their football fix?

Well, many have been turning to old matches.

And for those of us in England, ITV will be helping with that in the coming weeks.

From today, they will be showing all 31 matches from Euro 1996 - the tournament staged in England.

The entire nation was captivated by the tournament in which England reached the semi-finals before losing to eventual winners Germany on penalties.

England Euro 96

But it featured some incredible moments.

That Paul Gascoigne goal vs Scotland, thrashing Netherlands and beating Spain on penalties.

And for the next 19 days, you can relive every single kick of the ball from the entire tournament.

Below is the full schedule so you can put the dates in your diary:

Monday 11th May
England v Switzerland - 6:15pm - ITV Hub & ITV4

Tuesday 12th May
Spain v Bulgaria - 1pm - ITV Hub

Germany v Czech Republic - 4pm - ITV Hub

Denmark v Portugal - 7pm - ITV Hub

Wednesday 13th May
Scotland v Netherlands - 3pm - ITV Hub

France v Romania - 7pm - ITV Hub

Thursday 14th May
Italy v Russia - 3pm - ITV Hub

Croatia v Turkey -  7pm - ITV Hub

Friday 15th May
Bulgaria v Romania - 3pm - ITV Hub

Switzerland v Netherlands - 7pm - ITV Hub

Saturday 16th May
Portugal v Turkey - 1pm - ITV Hub

Czech Republic v Italy - 7pm - ITV Hub

Sunday 17th May
France v Spain - 3pm - ITV Hub

Scotland v England - 6:45pm - ITV4 & ITV Hub

Monday 18th May
Russia v Germany - 3pm - ITV Hub

Croatia v Denmark - 7pm - ITV Hub

Tuesday 19th May
France v Bulgaria - 7pm - ITV Hub

Romania v Spain - 7pm - ITV Hub

Wednesday 20th May
Scotland v Switzerland - 7pm - ITV Hub

Netherlands v England - 6:30pm - ITV4 & ITV Hub

Thursday 21st May
Croatia v Portugal - 7pm - ITV Hub

Turkey v Denmark - 7pm - ITV Hub

Friday 22nd May
Russia v Czech Republic - 7pm - ITV Hub

Italy v Germany - 7pm - ITV Hub

Saturday 23rd May 
Quarter-Final 1 - 6:45pm - ITV4 & ITV Hub

Sunday 24th May 
Quarter-Final 2 - 3pm - ITV Hub

Monday 25th May
Quarter-Final 3 - 3pm - ITV Hub

Tuesday 26th May
Quarter-Final 4 - 7pm - ITV Hub

Wednesday 27th May
Semi-Final 1 - 3pm - ITV Hub

Thursday 28th May
Semi-Final 2 - 6:40pm - ITV4 & ITV Hub

Friday 29th May
Final - 6:40pm - ITV4 & ITV Hub

1996 UEFA Euro Championships Final Germany v Czech Republic

In a statement, ITV said: “With Euro 2020 postponed for twelve months, the ITV Hub has raided its archives to provide football fans with a slice of sports nostalgia as the platform unearths every match from Euro 96.

“Airing from May, ITV Hub takes a trip down sporting memory lane and will air all 31 games from one of the most closely contested tournaments in recent history.

"In addition, ITV4 will also play out the five games that featured the England football team in some of their most memorable head to heads, as well as the final between Germany and the Czech Republic.

“Football fans will be able to relive the drama from the epic summer of ’96, during which host nation England fought to bring the trophy back home, with a squad made up of sporting legends Alan Shearer, David Seaman, Paul Gascoigne, Sol Campbell and Teddy Sheringham.

“1996 was the last time England reached the semifinals of the European Championships and remains fondly remembered thanks to Baddiel and Skinner and The Lightning Seeds’ chart-topping anthem Three Lions (Football’s Coming Home).”

News Now - Sport News