Formula One announce first eight races for the revised 2020 calendar


There has been lots of uncertainty surrounding Formula One in recent months due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The 2020 season was supposed to start with the Australian Grand Prix back in March, but the opening 10 races had to be put on hold.

However, things are finally looking up for fans of the sport following the release of a new schedule that features eight races across Europe.

The season will kick off with an Austrian double-header on July 5 and 12, with both races taking place at the Red Bull Ring.

A double-header has also been announced for Great Britain’s Silverstone on August 2 and 9, with races also confirmed for Hungary, Spain, Belgium and Italy.

All events will take place behind closed doors, and more dates will be announced “in the coming weeks.”

Here is the opening calendar in full:

• 3-5 July – Austrian Grand Prix (Red Bull Ring)

• 10-12 July – Steiermark Grand Prix (Red Bull Ring)

• 17-19 July – Hungarian Grand Prix (Hungaroring)

• 31 July-2 August – British Grand Prix (Silverstone)

• 7-9 August – 70th Anniversary Grand Prix (Silverstone)

• 14-16 August – Spanish Grand Prix

• 28-30 August – Belgian Grand Prix

• 4-6 September – Italian Grand Prix

F1 have said they expect to have “a total of 15-18 races” before completing the season in December.

While nothing is official at this stage, reports suggest they will finish with events in Bahrain on December 6 and Abu Dhabi on December 13.

There is also speculation of races in China, Vietnam and Japan in October due to falling Covid-19 rates in these countries.

However, events in the US, Russia, Brazil, Mexico and Azerbaijan are in doubt due to their high rates of infection.

Will you be watching the Austrian Grand Prix on July 5?

News Now - Sport News