Bilbao 0-1 Real Madrid: Iker Muniain fuming as Sergio Ramos avoids giving away penalty

Iker Muniain was not happy after Bilbao's 1-0 loss to Real Madrid...

Real Madrid are on the verge of winning the La Liga title.

Los Blancos claimed their third successive 1-0 win today away at Athletic Bilbao, with captain Sergio Ramos scoring a late penalty to seal all three points.

It’s the second game in a row that a penalty from Real Madrid’s talismanic leader has secured a victory and it’s also the 22nd penalty in a row that Ramos has converted in La Liga.

There’s no denying that the man is one of the greatest defenders to have played the game, but as per usual, the Spaniard was also involved in a controversial incident even later on in the match.

The 34-year-old appeared to stamp on Raul Garcia’s foot in the box and VAR – which had minutes earlier awarded Real Madrid a penalty for a foul on Marcelo – was called into action once again.

Replays appeared to show a clear foul by Ramos, but the technology didn’t agree. You can watch the incident below and judge for yourself.

Looks pretty clear-cut, right?

It’s unsurprisingly sparked enormous debate across social media and Bilbao forward Iker Muniain has added a lot of fuel to the fire.

“Raul Garcia’s been stamped on and they haven’t even revised it, that’s the difference,” Muniain said after the game, per Sport.

“We’ve seen the theme in these weeks since the restart, depending on which teams it is, some decisions are given. Everyone can draw their own conclusions.”

The penalty incident

Brutal honesty, but you can understand Muniain’s fury. Had it been a Bilbao centre-back stamping on the foot of say, Karim Benzema, you feel like the chances of a penalty being given would have been increased.

Now some will ask; but Garcia was in an offside position?

Yes, he was, but we’ll refer you to the basis of the Laws of the Game (Law 11 – Offside) which stipulates: “If a player in an offside position is moving towards the ball with the intention of playing the ball and is fouled before playing or attempting to play the ball, or challenging an opponent for the ball, the foul is penalised as it has occurred before the offside offence.”

AS‘ referee analyst has also commented on the incident, stating: “This is a penalty, intentionality in football counts for nothing. Back in the day I wouldn’t have blown for that but with the current rules and applying the letter of the law, this is a penalty kick.”

Real Madrid have got away with one here…

News Now - Sport News