Jurgen Klopp confronts referee after Liverpool denied late penalty in draw vs Burnley

p1ecvapbckrcc3s41a4l17rkdknd.jpg

Liverpool fail to win at home in the Premier League.

A sentence that hasn’t been typed since January 2019.

But Burnley went to Anfield and came away with a point following a 1-1 draw.

Andy Robertson had put the champions into a first half lead with a superb header and, if it wasn’t for an incredible performance from goalkeeper Nick Pope, the Reds could have been about 5-0 ahead.

But with 20 minutes remaining, Jay Rodriguez swivelled on a loose ball on the edge of the box to fire past Alisson.

Burnley could have won it late on, too.

Alisson could only punch a cross into Johann Gudmundsson’s path but the Icelandic midfielder struck the crossbar with a golden opportunity.

But a few minutes before that chance, Liverpool felt they were denied a blatant penalty.

Robertson went down in the penalty area under the challenge of Gudmundsson and it appeared to be an obvious foul.

Referee David Coote didn’t give it but VAR would surely overturn that decision.

However, after looking at it, they ruled that Gudmundsson got a tiny touch on the ball before bringing down Robertson. Therefore, no penalty.

Jurgen Klopp certainly didn’t agree with the decision as he berated the officials on the final whistle.

To make matters worse for him and Liverpool, replays showed that Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah weren’t offside for the free-kick which led to Burnley’s equaliser.

The Reds will now have to beat Arsenal, Chelsea and Newcastle to reach 101 points and break Manchester City’s points record.

They’ve made it very difficult for themselves now but they won’t be thanking the officials.

GIVEMESPORT's Rob Hoskin says:

This is such a tough decision to call. When you make a sliding tackle and get the ball, you're naturally going to take the opponent afterwards.

If Gudmundsson had made a better connection with the ball during his tackle and then taking down Robertson like he did, there would be no arguments. 

p1ecvbhn65ckod8t10v1g8v3o1n.jpg

However, because his touch is so minimal, it looks to be a stonewall penalty. 

We think the officials did actually make the correct decision because the Burnley midfielder did get a touch on the ball before taking Robertson down. 

News Now - Sport News