David Silva: 10 surprising players who have won more Premier League Player of the Month awards

  • Rob Swan

The Premier League waved goodbye to one of its greatest ever players on Sunday.

David Silva made his final league appearance for Manchester City in a 5-0 victory over Norwich City at the Etihad Stadium.

The Spaniard has lit up the Premier League over the past 10 years and will depart having cemented his status as arguably City’s best player of all time.

“When I look back at everything, I could never in my wildest dreams have imagined what I would achieve,” Silva, who won the Premier League four times, told reporters ahead of his final league game for City.

“When you are young, you don’t dream about all of this. You [just] dream about becoming a professional and playing in the top flight.”

When asked how he’d like to be remembered, Silva replied: “As a good guy, who enjoys football. I hope the people enjoyed my football as well. It’s simple.”

Meanwhile, City boss Pep Guardiola summed up Silva’s illustrious career by calling it “extraordinary”.

“The amount of games, the huge quality in the games he played, the titles he helped win…he’s alongside five or six others who made this club what it is now,” he added. “And this club will always be grateful.”

But despite his brilliance, it’s surprising to discover that Silva has only won the Premier League Player of the Year award on one – yes, ONE! – occasion during his City tenure.

Silva won the coveted individual accolade back in September 2011 but hasn’t won it since.


This leaves him tied with the likes of Alex Manninger, Marcus Bent, Edu, Anton Ferdinand, Kevin Nolan, Johan Elmander, Steven Fletcher, Adam Le Fondre and several other players who don’t belong in the same conversation as City’s midfield maestro.

There are also a bunch of other current and former players you might be surprised to discover have actually won more Premier League Player of the Month awards than Silva.

Chris Sutton

Look, Chris Sutton was a decent striker and take nothing away from the fact he won the award twice.

But should Silva have fewer Premier League PotM awards in his collection that the former Blackburn Rovers striker? Absolutely not.


Rob Lee

Rob Lee won his PotM awards in September 1994 and November 1995, both with Newcastle United.

The former England international was a decent top-flight player but, let’s be honest now, nowhere near Silva’s class.


Tim Flowers

Tim Flowers was a good 90s goalkeeper but not an incredible one in the same league as, say, Peter Schmeichel or David Seaman.

He won his PotM awards in January 1997 with Blackburn and September 2000 with Leicester.


James Beattie

Like the other players on this list, James Beattie was a decent Premier League player in his pomp.

He won the PotM award in December 2000 and again in November 2002, both while plying his trade with Southampton.


Ashley Young

Ashley Young was on fire with Aston Villa in 2008 and won the Premier League Player of the Month award THREE times that year, in April, September and December.

The former Manchester United winger has won the award as many times as the likes of Gareth Bale, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane.


Peter Odemwingie

Another player who has won the Premier League Player of the Month award three(!) times is Peter Odemwingie, the man arguably most famous for turning up to QPR’s training ground on transfer deadline day and failing to seal a move to Loftus Road.


Andrew Johnson

Andrew Johnson scored 51 Premier League goals during his career, which is fewer than the likes of Darius Vassell, Efan Ekoku and Carlton Cole.

Despite that, the former Crystal Palace and Everton striker won the PotM award on two occasions, in October 2004 and September 2006.


Bruno Fernandes

Bruno Fernandes is undoubtedly a class act who has improved Manchester United immeasurable since February, but he’s only been a Premier League player for five minutes.

It doesn’t seem right that Fernandes already has more PotM awards than Silva.


Scott Parker

Scott Parker won the PotM award in February 2011 and November 2011, with West Ham and Tottenham, respectively.

Was he a better player than Silva? Nope.


Danny Murphy

Danny Murphy won the PotM award in November 2001 with Liverpool and again in September 2005 with Charlton.

Like Parker, he was a fine Premier League midfielder back in the day.

But Silva is one of the greatest midfielders we’ve ever seen in English football’s top league. It feels wrong that he leaves the Premier League with fewer PotM awards than Murphy and the rest of those on this list.


Still, that won’t stop football fans from remembering just how brilliant the Spain international was between 2010-2020.

News Now - Sport News