Lionel Messi told referee ‘You screwed us twice’ after Argentina 1-1 Paraguay


Argentina remain top of South America’s qualification table for the 2022 World Cup finals but failed to beat Paraguay in Buenos Aires on Thursday night.

Lionel Messi thought he had sealed all three points for La Albiceleste after finishing off a superb team move early in the second half; however, the goal was ruled out following a VAR review.

Messi stuck the ball past goalkeeper Anthony Silva but Brazilian referee Raphael Claus disallowed the goal because of a foul which had occurred 27 seconds earlier.

This decision ultimately denied Argentina two precious points.

Paraguay took the lead in the 21st minute thanks to an Angel Romero penalty before Nicolas Gonzalez equalled on the stroke of half-time.

Argentina were producing some eye-catching football at the start of the second half and Messi finished off a wonderful 15-pass move in the 57th minute.


But the celebrations of Messi and co. were cut short after Claus consulted the pitch-side monitor.

VAR had spotted a foul for Paraguay almost 30 seconds earlier when the ball was still in Argentina’s half.


Watch the footage here…

Seems a pretty harsh decision, right?

Messi certainly thought so.

According to Mundo Deportivo - per the Daily Mail - the Barcelona superstar angrily told the referee: “You screwed us twice” after the final whistle.


Argentina’s head coach Lionel Scaloni, meanwhile, was equally as frustrated as his star man.

“There's a lot of plays in which (VAR) could have been used today and it wasn’t,” he said. “I am not talking about bad or good intentions.

“No one likes soccer like this.”

Messi and his teammates will be back on action on November 17 when they face Peru in Lima.

News Now - Sport News