Tokyo Olympics: Women's football fixtures, results, how to watch & more info

Netherlands women

With the Tokyo Olympics now in full swing, we're providing everything you need to know as the women's football tournament for the 2020 Games unfolds.

Which teams are competing in the Tokyo 2020 Olympic women's football tournament?

A total of 12 teams from six confederations will be competing at this year's Olympics. The first group, Group E, will consist of host nation Japan, Canada, Great Britain, and Chile.

Group F will see China PR, Brazil, Zambia, and The Netherlands battle it out for a place in the knockouts, and finally Group G will be made up of Sweden, USA, Australia, and New Zealand.

Women's football has been assigned groups E-G to avoid confusion with the men's tournament, which uses a Group A-D system.

What is the format of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic women's football tournament?

The four teams in each group will play each other once on a round-robin basis, with a maximum of nine points up for grabs in total.

After each nation has played all three assigned fixtures, the top two teams in the group will advance into the knockout stages. Third-placed teams will enter a play-off group for another chance at reaching the next stage, with the best two qualifying for the knockouts.

Japan Women's National Team

The successful teams will then compete in the last eight – fixtures will be held across venues in Kashima, Saitama, Yokohama, and Rifu.The winners of the quarter-finals then move to the semis, before a gold medal match between the final two teams will take place on August 6th in Tokyo.

A bronze medal game will also be held to determine the full medal ranking for the tournament.

When are the Tokyo 2020 Olympic women's football tournament quarter-finals?

With the group stages now complete, the knockout stages will get underway on July 30th. The quarter-final fixtures are as follows:

Canada vs Brazil – 9:00 BST

Great Britain vs Australia – 10:00 BST

Sweden vs Japan – 11:00 BST

Netherlands vs the United States – 2:00 BST

The semi-finals are scheduled for August 2nd and the bronze medal match on August 5th. The grand final will be held on August 6th.

1 of 15

Which city will the Olympics be held in this year?

How can I watch the Tokyo 2020 Olympic women's football tournament?

For viewers in the UK, the BBC and Eurosport will be broadcasting the Tokyo Olympics.

BBC One will show the Opening Ceremony ceremony, as well as devoting the whole Olympic calendar to airing the events for free and offering a catch-up service on BBC iPlayer for those unable to watch live.

Team GB’s opening match against Chile will be broadcast live on BBC Two. Former Arsenal defender Alex Scott will present coverage.

What are the results of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic women's football tournament so far?

Vivianne Miedema made history by scoring the Netherlands' first Olympic goal before netting a hat-trick in the opening round. She has also smashed Christine Sinclair's record for the most goals scored at a single Games.

Similarly, Barbra Bonda of Zambia became the first African woman to score a hat-trick at the Games as she also scored her nation's first ever goal at the tournament. In the next round, she bagged her second hat-trick in as many matches to become the first woman in history to do so.

Here's a run down of all the results so far:

First Round

Group E: Great Britain 2-0 Chile, Japan 1-1 Chile, 

Group F: Brazil 5-0 China, Netherlands 10-3 Zambia

Group G: Sweden 3-0 USA, Australia 2-1 New Zealand

Second Round

Group E: Canada 2-1 Chile, Great Britain 1-0 Japan

Group F: China 4-4 Zambia, Netherlands 3-3 Brazil

Group G: Sweden 4-2 Australia, United States 6-1 New Zealand

Third Round

Group E: Canada 1-1 Great Britain, Japan 1-0 Chile

Group F: Netherlands 8-2 China, Brazil 1-0 Zambia

Group G: Sweden 2-0 New Zealand, USA 0-0 Australia

Who are the favourites to win the Tokyo 2020 Olympic women's football tournament?

The USA will likely be viewed as the favourites to win at the Tokyo Olympics, given the fact they have previously won four gold medals and are currently the highest ranked international team in the world.


However, they will be heavily contested by 2016 runners-up Sweden, who missed out on winning gold in a 2-1 defeat to champions Germany.

The Netherlands, who are ranked fourth in the world, will be making their Olympic debut this summer and will be looking to leave their mark on the Games. 

Brazil, Canada, Australia, and Japan are all ranked inside the top ten in the world. The most recent highest finish between these four teams was Japan at London 2012, where they won a silver medal after the USA pipped them to gold in the final. However, Brazil boast back-to-back silvers from Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008, and Canada have won bronze twice.

Keep up to date with all of the major women's news this Olympics here on GiveMeSport.

News Now - Sport News