Roberts bags brace in Plymouth loss

Published Add your comment

Football News

npower League Two bottom club Plymouth suffered their sixth defeat in seven games after losing 2-0 at home to Port Vale

Gary Roberts struck both goals for Port Vale while each team finished with 10 men following dismissals.

Visiting striker Marc Richards saw red just after half-time while Plymouth's Ladjie Soukouna was sent off in conceding the 84th-minute penalty that Roberts netted his second goal from.

Crewe continued to climb the standings after beating Barnet 3-1 to record their third successive win. Luke Murphy, Shaun Miller and Adam Dugdale netted Crewe's goals with Izale McLeod replying for the visitors.

Swindon made it back-to-back triumphs with goals from Jonathan Smith and Mehdi Kerrouche earning them a 2-0 victory over Southend.

Bradford picked up their sixth point of the season after salvaging a 2-2 draw at home to Bristol Rovers thanks to two Michael Flynn penalties - the second coming in stoppable time. Rovers twice led through goals from Matt Harrold and Eliot Richards, but Flynn successfully converted his spot-kicks to earn Bradford a draw.

Aldershot also scored an injury-time equaliser to deny AFC Wimbledon the three points, Danny Hylton's goal giving his side a 1-1 draw just moments after the visitors, who had led since Max Porter's 17th-minute header, lost Ricky Wellard to a second booking.

Gillingham and Accrington Stanley also played out a 1-1 draw, Luke Rooney's 88th-minute penalty for the Gills cancelling out Ian Craney opener four minutes previously, while the clash between Northampton and Torquay finished goalless.

The points were also shared at Oxford, who surrendered a two-goal lead to draw 2-2 against Burton Albion.

Goals from Alfie Potter and Peter Leven either side of half-time put Oxford in charge, but Burton hit back with a Justin Richards double, his second goal coming from a 66th-minute penalty.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Danny Hylton
Crewe Alexandra
Justin Richards
Bristol Rovers
Luke Rooney
Luke Murphy
Matt Harrold
Shaun Miller
Marc Richards
Swindon Town
Port Vale
Southend United
Alfie Potter
Bradford City
Max Porter
Peter Leven
Gary Roberts
AFC Wimbledon
Burton Albion
League Two
Aldershot Town
Michael Flynn
Izale McLeod
Ian Craney
Torquay United
Accrington Stanley
Plymouth Argyle

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again