Addicks stay top

Published Add your comment

Football News

Charlton remain top of npower League One after they held off a comeback by Rochdale to win 3-2 at the Spotland Stadium.

Charlton led 2-0 at the break but an action-packed second half saw Rochdale level the match at 2-2 before Danny Hollands headed the winner in the 80th minute.

Sheffield United are joint leaders after beating Colchester 3-0 at Bramall Lane. The Blades scored two first-half goals when Ched Evans gave them the lead in the third minute with a strike from close range, before Chris Porter and Stephen Quinn got onto the scoresheet.

MK Dons goalkeeper David Martin was the hero when his last-minute penalty save denied a late win for Huddersfield as the teams drew 1-1 at the Stadium:MK while Preston secured a 3-1 away win at Brentford thanks to a double from Neil Mellor and a goal by Iain Hume.

Elsewhere, Chesterfield beat Carlisle 4-1 after a hat-trick from Leon Clarke and a header by Craig Westcarr. The Spireites led 2-1 at half-time, with a goal by Carlisle striker Lee Millar briefly levelling the scores, but a strong second half ensured the win.

Exeter lost 2-0 at home to Bournemouth while a strong performance by Hartlepool saw them run out 3-0 winners against Bury, striker Colin Nish scoring twice after midfielder Nolberto Solano opened the scoring just after the half-hour mark.

Oldham came from behind to beat Leyton Orient 3-1 at the Matchroom Stadium. George Porter opened the scoring for the O's after 18 minutes, but strikes by Shefki Kuqi, Matt Smith and a header by Reuben Reid earned the Latics the away win.

Notts County beat Stevenage 2-0 with Lee Hughes and Ben Burgess on the scoresheet while Tranmere overcame Wycombe by two goals to nil.

Sheffield Wednesday came from behind to win 3-2 on the road at Yeovil thanks to goals by David McGoldrick, Julian Bennett and Gary Madine. Kieran Agard scored twice for Yeovil.

Walsall and Scunthorpe shared the spoils in their 2-2 draw at the Banks's Stadium.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Yeovil Town
Julian Bennett
Colchester United
Leon Clarke
Milton Keynes Dons
Sheffield Wednesday
Neil Mellor
David McGoldrick
Kieran Agard
David Martin
Scunthorpe United
League One
Gary Madine
Craig Westcarr
Huddersfield Town
David Martin
Shefki Kuqi
Reuben Reid
Preston North End
Danny Hollands
Chris Porter
Stephen Quinn
Lee Hughes
Ben Burgess
Matt Smith
Carlisle United
Oldham Athletic
Wigan Athletic
Sheffield United
Nolberto Solano
Iain Hume
Ched Evans
Tranmere Rovers
Charlton Athletic
Leyton Orient
Notts County

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again