Golden Boot chase is a two horse race

Published Add your comment

Football News

Wayne Rooney has become the first player in Barclays Premier League history to score nine goals in the opening five games of a domestic season, and sits proudly at the top of the goalscoring charts.

Meanwhile, on the other side of Manchester, Sergio Aguero has made a seamless transition to English football, following his record-breaking £38million move to the Etihad Stadium - becoming the first foreign import to score eight goals in his first five ever Premier League appearances.

The Argentine forward's impressive start to the 2011-12 campaign sees him surpass the likes of Jurgen Klinsmann [7], and Fabrizio Ravanelli [6] before him, and keeps the pressure on the in-form England international striker in the race for the Golden Boot.

In a poll conducted by GMF, we asked online football fans who they think will finish the season as Barclays Premier League top scorer.

Over half of the 2,500 fans polled believe the chase for the Golden Boot is a two-horse race between the early season front-runners, with Aguero [29%] slightly edging ahead of Rooney [28%], while there is some backing for Luis Suarez [17%] to click into goalscoring form.

Fernando Torres is a surprising 4th favourite with 13% of voters believing the £50million man will turn his Blues career around and start finding the net at Stamford Bridge, despite yesterday's glaring open-goal gaffe at Old Trafford.


Robin Van Persie - an early season favourite with the bookies after his impressive return in the second half of last season, ranked 5th after receiving only 9% of the vote, having found the net on just a solitary occasion so far this term.

And despite Emmanuel Adebayor's three goals in two appearances for new club Tottenham Hotspur, the Togolese striker isn't fancied to be in with a shout come the end of the season, receiving a minority 1% of backing from the fans.

Barclays Premier League Top Goalscorers 2011-12
Player: Team: Goals:
WayneRooney ManUnited 9
Sergio Aguero Man City 8
Edin Dzeko Man City 6
E. Adebayor Tottenham 3
G.Agbonlahor AstonVilla 3
Leon Best Newcastle 3
F. Di Santo Wigan 3
Ivan Klasnic Bolton 3

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Premier League

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again