Addicks extend lead

Published Add your comment

Football News

Charlton extended their lead at the top of npower League One to three points after securing a 3-1 victory over Chesterfield at The Valley.

Paul Hayes struck from close range to give the Addicks the lead, before Johnnie Jackson extended their advantage.

Danny Whitaker pulled one back from the penalty spot after Leon Clarke was fouled, although Bradley Wright-Phillips secured the win late on.

Sheffield United lie in second position after Stuart Beavon's well-struck effort handed Wycombe a 1-0 win over the Blades.

Hartlepool's excellent start to the season continued with a 2-1 victory on their long trip to the south coast to face Bournemouth. Steven Gregory had given the Cherries a first-half lead, before Nolberto Solano levelled and Evan Horwood's fine late goal secured three points.

Bury enjoyed a goalless draw against promotion-chasing MK Dons, while Anthony Wordsworth's penalty gave Colchester a 1-0 win against Walsall and Carlisle won by the same result against Stevenage thanks to Peter Murphy's effort.

Leyton Orient clawed back a surprise 2-2 draw at Huddersfield. Alan Lee and Jack Hunt gave the Terriers a two-goal lead, before seeing Jamie McCombe sent off in the 83rd minute. Kevin Lisbie pulled one back moments later before Ben Chorley netted the equaliser in stoppage time.

Lee Hughes and Sam Sodje scored in Notts County's 2-0 defeat of Rochdale, while Myles Weston and Jonathan Douglas netted as Brentford won 2-0 at Oldham.

Preston recovered from their midweek Carling Cup defeat to Southampton by beating Tranmere 2-1 at Deepdale. On-loan Jose Baxter looked to have secured the visitors a point after Graham Alexander had broken the deadlock, but Danny Mayor scored the winner just before Paul Parry saw red.

Gary Madine's brace complemented by a James O'Connor goal helped Sheffield Wednesday to a 3-0 win against Exeter while Damien Mozika scored either side of half-time to help Scunthorpe win 2-1 against Yeovil, who netted through Paul Wotton.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Yeovil Town
Colchester United
Jamie McCombe
Leon Clarke
Danny Whitaker
Milton Keynes Dons
Sheffield Wednesday
Paul Hayes
Anthony Wordsworth
Jack Hunt
Peter Murphy
Alan Lee
Myles Weston
Ben Chorley
Scunthorpe United
League One
Gary Madine
James O'Connor
League Cup
Huddersfield Town
Graham Alexander
Paul Parry
Paul Wotton
Damien Mozika
Preston North End
Jose Baxter
Peter Murphy
Johnnie Jackson
Lee Hughes
Carlisle United
Oldham Athletic
Sheffield United
Nolberto Solano
Kevin Lisbie
Steven Gregory
Evan Horwood
Sam Sodje
Kevin Lisbie
Tranmere Rovers
Charlton Athletic
Leyton Orient
Notts County
Jonathan Douglas
Stuart Beavon
Bradley Wright-Phillips

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again