Final Fantasy 16: Do I need to play the previous games?

Here's what you need to know about Final Fantasy 16

Final Fantasy 16 is the upcoming new title in the mega-popular series from Square Enix, but do you need to play the other games in the series to enjoy and understand it?

Something that newer players to the series will be wondering is if they need to have played the first 15 games in the mainline series to enjoy Final Fantasy 16, and the answer is a combination of yes and no.

The new game will be set in a medieval-type world, which will be harkening back to the classic sprite versions of the series from the Super Nintendo.

Final Fantasy, for the most part, has had a different game world for every release in the series.

The first title to officially receive a sequel was Final Fantasy X/10, which was such a success on the Playstation 2 that Square Enix decided to release Final Fantasy X-2.

Whilst the actual storylines for every game are completely different, gamers hoping to get into Final Fantasy 16 may benefit from playing a couple of games earlier in the series to get used to the meta of the series.

Read More: Final Fantasy 16: Release Date, Trailer, News, Characters, Gameplay and Everything You Need To Know

Here's what you need to know about Final Fantasy 16

Which Final Fantasy games should I play?

From a storyline perspective, you won’t need to play any of the other games in the series to fully enjoy Final Fantasy 16, but here’s what we would suggest if you want to get a feel for what the new game will potentially be like to play:

Final Fantasy 7 Remake

The most successful title in the history of the series is Final Fantasy 7 on the Playstation 1. It was no surprise then after many years of teases that Square Enix finally decided to have a remake of their most iconic title.

The FF7 Remake has a battle system that will probably be the closest to what we will see in Final Fantasy 16, which itself was influenced heavily by the popular RPG series Kingdom Hearts, also developed by Square Enix.

Final Fantasy 15

Whilst not the greatest game in the lineup, Final Fantasy 15 is a good introduction to the open-world style of FF, as Final Fantasy 7 Remake is based entirely in Midgar, the opening city from the original game.

Final Fantasy IX

Final Fantasy 9 was the final mainline game in the PS1 era, and it differed massively from the previous two titles in that it was a retrospective style of game, back to the original style of the SNES era of FF titles.

Granted, the world of Final Fantasy 16 looks to be far darker, but playing Final Fantasy 9 will give newer players a feel of what the series was in the 16-bit era.

Ps5 Giveaway

Enter the September Giveaway to win a PS5

You can find all of the latest gaming news right here at GiveMeSport.

News Now - Sport News