Messi, Mbappe, Lewandowski: FIFA 22 simulates every Ballon d'Or winner until 2035


Lionel Messi is hoping to win the Ballon d'Or for the seventh time in his career when the ceremony is held in Paris on November 29.

The Argentinian's entry is supported by a fifth-straight Pichichi Trophy after he finished as La Liga's top goalscorer in 2020/21, as well as leading his country to Copa America glory in the summer.

Messi faces competition for the award from Bayern Munich ace Robert Lewandowski and Euro 2020 winner Jorginho, along with a number of other players who have enjoyed impressive years.

But instead of waiting until late November to find out who will emerge victorious, why not just see what FIFA 22 thinks?

YouTube BCHDGaming has simulated the next 15 years in EA Sports' popular video game to see which player wins the award in each year until 2035.

How many does Messi end up winning? Does Neymar eventually get one, or do Kylian Mbappe and Erling Haaland get in his way?

Let's find out.

2021 winner: Robert Lewandowski

Lewandowski probably would have won the award last year had it not been cancelled due to the pandemic.

This was a pretty inaccurate portrayal of the event, though. In the simulation, Messi wasn't tipped as one of the four strongest nominations but Riyad Mahrez was.


2022 winner: Kylian Mbappe

Again, Mahrez was put forward as a candidate. He must have had some year.

But Mbappe claims his first Ballon d'Or, beating Mahrez and Paris Saint-Germain teammates Messi and Neymar to the prize.

2023 winner: Kylian Mbappe

Mbappe goes back-to-back.

Is there any stopping him?

1 of 20

Which city was Lionel Messi born and raised?

2024 winner: Kylian Mbappe

No. Mbappe completes his hat-trick, beating English duo Harry Kane and Raheem Sterling.

Messi is 37 at this point so he seems to be out of the running from here on. At this point, he must be scared that Mbappe could eventually surpass his tally of Ballon d'Or wins.

2025 winner: Kylian Mbappe

Mbappe is unstoppable.

The France striker has an overall rating of 95 at this point and is in a league of his own.

Meanwhile Borussia Dortmund's Haaland hasn't even been tipped as one of the four best candidates yet.


2026 winner: Kylian Mbappe

This is getting ridiculous now.

Mbappe ties Cristiano Ronaldo with his fifth award and, at the age of 27, he's just entering his prime.

Imagine if this was to happen in real life. Messi won the Ballon d'Or four years in row between 2009 and 2012 but never five.

Should Jorginho win the Ballon d'Or? (2 mins watch)

2027 winner: Kylian Mbappe


That's six in a row for PSG's Mbappe. When's it going to end?

2028 winner: Kylian Mbappe

Mbappe maintains his 95 overall rating so it's hardly a surprise that he comes out on top again.

GOAT status might officially be his at this point.


2029 winner: Kylian Mbappe

Eight. In. A. Row.

2030 winner: Felix De Wolf

Finally, someone other than Mbappe. 

Inter Milan's Belgian centre-forward De Wolf - a fictional player - ends Mbappe's ridiculous streak by claiming the award in 2030.

Mbappe wasn't even nominated in the top four. The start of his decline?


Enter Giveaway

2031 winner: Kylian Mbappe

It turns out Mbappe just took a year off.

He's back with his ninth Golden Ball, beating De Wolf to the award.

Despite being 32 years of age, the France international still holds a 95 overall rating.

2032 winner: Marco Castro

Marco Castro, a regen playing for Liverpool, wins his first Ballon d'Or in 2032.

The right winger has a 94 overall rating, including ridiculous speed ratings of 99 acceleration and 98 sprint speed.


2033 winner: Kylian Mbappe

Mbappe brings up his 10th award in 2033.

We see the PSG star as a multiple Ballon d'Or winner one day, but 10? That's entirely unrealistic.

Messi was further along in his development when he was 22 than Mbappe is, so to think that the French star could win four more awards is insane.

2034 winner: Marco Castro

Castro wins his second award. Liverpool have a star on their hands in the Argentinian winger.

2035 winner: Felix De Wolf

And Inter's De Wolf grabs his second Ballon d'or.


Aged 30, the striker finishes ahead of Mbappe and Gabriel Martinelli.

So no more awards for Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo, while Mbappe embarks on the most dominant stretch that football has ever witnessed.

We hope that the next 15 years are a little more competitive. No doubt Haaland will, too.

News Now - Sport News