FA Cup: Who has the History?

Published Add your comment

Football News

This weekend sees eight teams contest the FA Cup quarter-finals, with Leicester City the only Championship side remaining at this stage of the competition.

Each side has its own piece of history in the competition, and we remember some of their great moments...

Everton v Sunderland

Everton last won the competition in 1995, when Paul Rideout's header was enough to beat Manchester United 1-0 at Wembley. They lost to Chelsea in 2009, despite Louis Saha scoring the quickest goal in final history.

Sunderland's last win came at the twin towers back in 1973, when Bob Stokoe's side produced one of the most famous victories against the mighty Leeds United. The Black Cats have won it twice in their history, but last lost in the final in 1992.

Tottenham Hotspur v Bolton Wanderers

Despite winning the trophy eight times, Spurs have not reached the final of the competition in over two decades, with their last win coming in 1991 against Nottingham Forest. They lost the 1987 final to Coventry City.

Bolton's last triumph came over 50 years ago, when Nat Lofthouse's double proved too much for a Manchester United side who had lost most of its players to the Munich Air Disaster just three months earlier. The Trotters have won the trophy four times, whilst lost in three finals.

Chelsea v Leicester City

With a great recent pedigree in the competition, Chelsea are understandably one of the favourites this season. Victories over Portsmouth and Everton in the 2010 and 2009 finals are just two of the club's six overall wins, although the 2002 final defeat to Everton still hurts the Blues.

Leicester have the most cup final losses of any team not to win the trophy, with four heartbreaking defeats in their history. The most recent was a 1969 loss to Manchester City, when Neil Young scored the winner.

Liverpool v Stoke City

The Reds have seven FA Cup wins to their name, and after enjoying great success in the 80s, a Steven Gerrard inspired performance led to victory on penalties against West Ham in 2006. However, 'the spice boys' lost a dramatic final to Manchester United in 1996, when Eric Cantona scored a Wembley winner.

Stoke's FA Cup history is far more modern, with their only final appearance coming last year against Manchester City. The defeat could inspire Tony Pulis' Potters onto something even better this season.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

FA Cup

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again