Di Matteo, Ferguson & Mancini on FIFA award shortlist

Published 1 Comments

Football News

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson, Manchester City manager Roberto Mancini and Chelsea coach Roberto Di Matteo have all been named on the FIFA Coach of the Year shortlist.

The Premier League trio are three of ten candidates listed for the prestigious end of year awards. Chelsea and Manchester City each won historic trophies for their clubs while Manchester United finished second in the Premier League.

Chelsea won the Champions League for the first time in the club's history, and Roberto Di Matteo was instrumental to their cause.

The ex-Italy international only took over the Blues in early March, following the departure Andre Villas-Boas, and initially only on an interim basis.

Despite a 3-1 first-leg deficit, Di Matteo steered Chelsea past Napoli at Stamford Bridge in the round of 16, before comfortably easing past Benfica.

Few gave them a chance against the favourites, Barcelona, but a Didier Drogba goal gave them a first-leg lead before a stubborn stand at the Nou Camp saw them squeak into the final.

The showpiece was a microsm of their whole season. Almost no-one, other than Chelsea fans, expected them to win, and the Blues were battered by Bayern Munich for much of the match. But, another Drogba goal levelled the match, giving Chelsea a shot in the penalty shoot-out.

And in his final fixture as a Blue, Drogba stepped up to write himself into the club's history, four years after it all went wrong in Moscow against Manchester United.

As for Roberto Mancini, the Manchester City boss guided the Citizens to a first Premier League title, and a first league title for 44 years.

The City manager admitted defeat in April, after his side slumped to a loss against Arsenal, but they roared back to pip Manchester United on the final day of the league season.

Along with the Chelsea, Manchester United and Manchester City managers, a number of Europe's best also fine themselves on the shortlist.

Spain manager Vicente Del Bosque, former-Barca boss Pep Guardiola, Bayern Munich coach Jupp Heynckes, Borussia Dortmund boss Jurgen Klopp, Germany national team manager Joachim Low, Real Madrid chief Jose Mourinho and Italy national team boss Cesare Prandelli make up the shortlist.

The winner will be announced on 7 January 2013.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Manchester City
Premier League
Manchester United

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again