Messi & Neymar nominated for FIFA Puskas Award 2012

Published 53 Comments

Football News

FIFA have released the 10 nominations for the annual Puskas Award, otherwise known as the Goal of the Year, and Lionel Messi, Radamel Falcao and Neymar have all been nominated.

But Real Madrid superstar Cristiano Ronaldo, who scored 46 La Liga goals last season, misses out. From Mexico to Turkey, from Ghana to Canada, FIFA has scoured the world to unearth the best goals of the last year, and while there are a few names you've probably never heard of, there's a few old faces as well.

As for the criteria, FIFA values aesthetics - long range shots, team goals, overhead kicks - the importance of the match, the absence of luck or opposition mistake and fair play.

Last year's winner, Brazilian forward Neymar, is nominated once again for his stunning goal against Internacional, while Leo Messi's sole wonder strike for Argentina against Brazil gets the nod.

Newcastle star Hatem Ben Afra is the only Premier League representative. His 60 yard sprint through the Bolton defence enough to earn a nomination, but he faces tough competition from Miroslav Stoch - a stunning volley - and Gaston Maella - an incredible scorpion kick.

Anyway here are the ten nominations, click each link to watch the respective goals…

1. Hatem Ben Arfa - Newcastle v Bolton

2. Gaston Maella - Nacional Potosi v The Strongest

3. Radamel Falcao - Atletico Madrid v America de Cali

4. Olivia Jimenez - Mexico v Switzerland

5. Lionel Messi - Argentina v Brazil

6. Moussa Sow - Fenerbahce v Galatasaray

7. Miroslav Stoch - Fenerbahce v Genclerbirligi

8. Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu - Ghana v Guinea

9. Eric Hassli - Vancouver v Toronto

10. Neymar - Santos v Internacional

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Premier League

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again