Who will win the 2012/13 Premier League Golden Boot?

Published 2 Comments

Football News

With Christmas just around the corner, the Premier League fixture list is starting to pile up, with games coming thick and fast for all 20 clubs that are jostling for position in England's top-flight.

But, another race that's starting to hot up just as the winter months draw in, is the battle for the 2012/13 top scorer award, with four players currently tied on 10 Premier League goals this season.

Demba Ba's brace in Newcastle United's 3-0 victory over Wigan Athletic at St James' Park last night drew the Senegalese striker level with Robin van Persie, Luis Suarez, and Michu.

Van Persie added to his impressive tally at Old Trafford this year with the winning goal in Manchester United's 4-3 win over Reading on Saturday, while the Swans' surprise 2-0 victory against Arsenal at the Emirates Stadium came courtesy of Michu, who at £2million is turning out to be one of the Premier League's bargain-buys of the summer.

Suarez's failure to find the net in Liverpool's 1-0 win over Southampton at Anfield meant the Uruguayan has now gone three games without a goal, but still sits proudly joint-top of the charts, as he continues to carry his club's main threat in attack.

Leading the chasing pack is Tottenham and England striker Jermain Defoe, whose brace against Fulham helped Andre Villas-Boas's side to a resounding 3-0 victory at Craven Cottage at the weekend.

Marouane Fellaini continued his impressive start to the campaign when he netted his eighth Premier League goal of 2012/13, to help Everton to a 1-1 draw away at reigning champions Manchester City, while Carlos Tevez - who scored the equalising goal in that game from the penalty spot, lies one place behind the Belgian with a return of seven goals.

Four more players are tied on six goals, to complete the list of top-10, with Gareth Bale, Edin Dzeko, Steven Fletcher and Rickie Lambert all still retaining a chance of landing the Golden Boot.

Demba Ba | Newcastle United | 10 goals (©GettyImages)

Robin van Persie | Manchester United | 10 goals (©GettyImages)

Michu | Swansea City | 10 goals (©GettyImages)

Luis Suarez | Liverpool | 10 goals (©GettyImages)

Jermain Defoe (9) & Gareth Bale (6) | Tottenham Hotspur (©GettyImages)

Marouane Fellaini | Everton | 8 goals (©GettyImages)

Carlos Tevez (7) & Edin Dzeko (6) | Manchester City (©GettyImages)

Steven Fletcher | Sunderland  &  Rickie Lambert | Southampton   |  6 goals (©GettyImages)

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Premier League

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again