Even visitors´ boss Mark Hughes felt sure the goal would be disallowed after assistant referee Darren Cann raised his flag for offside but Cann then informed Webb he had incorrectly anticipated David Dunn getting a touch on David Bentley´s cross. And, while Dunn was in an offside position, he was deemed to be non-active, allowing Webb to give the goal.
"Whether that is interference according to FIFA I don´t know but to me it is interference," argued Eriksson. "By being in that position, Dunn decides what our goalkeeper is going to do. I asked the referee to explain it to me afterwards and he did say it is a big grey area. I really don´t know."
Copyright (c) PA Sport 2007, All Rights Reserved.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms