Atkinson did not award a foul when Barton went into the tackle with his studs high on the Sunderland player, with both men squaring up afterwards.
It is understood there was no mention of the incident in the referee´s report, and the FA will seek clarification over whether Atkinson did indeed witness the clash at the time as well as reviewing television evidence.
Copyright (c) PA Sport 2007, All Rights Reserved.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms