PFA Player of the Year nominees revealed

Published 13 Comments

Football News

Manchester United striker Robin van Persie could join Thierry Henry and Cristiano Ronaldo in becoming only the third player to win the PFA Player of the Year award in consecutive years. 

The Dutch striker will be up against Chelsea duo Juan Mata and Eden Hazard, bookies' favourite Gareth Bale, Manchester United team-mate Michael Carrick and current top scorer Luis Suarez.

Van Persie is set to win his first Premier League title after enduring seven trophyless seasons at Arsenal, while Carrick has been in outstanding form for Sir Alex Ferguson's side this season.

Chelsea's summer signing Eden Hazard has scored 12 goals for Chelsea and Spanish winger Mata has recorded the most Premier League assists. 

Liverpool forward Luis Suarez has also made a case to win the accolade by scoring 22 Premier League goals.

Despite the other candidates' impressive form, Tottenham's Bale has taken the league by storm with 17 goals for Andre Villas-Boas' side.

Meanwhile, Christian Benteke, Romelu Lukaku, Danny Welbeck and Jack Wilshere have been nominated to win the PFA Young Player of the Year award.  

Benteke has been a revelation in his first season in the Premier League by scoring 15 goals for Aston Villa so far this term, while fellow Belgium striker Lukaku has netted 13 times for West Brom.

England internationals Danny Welbeck and Jack Wilshere are also vying to win the prestigious award.

The winners will be announced on Sunday, April 28.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Tottenham Hotspur
Robin Van Persie
West Bromwich Albion
Romelu Lukaku
Premier League
Michael Carrick
Danny Welbeck
Manchester United
Aston Villa
Gareth Bale
Jack Wilshere
Luis Suarez

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again