Diego Maradona's famous 'Hand of God' attempt was reenacted by Santos Laguna forward Carlos Quintero on Sunday.
But rather than celebrating a vital goal in key fixture like the Argentinian magician all those years ago, Quintero was left red-faced after the referee spotted the act and promptly sent him off for a second yellow card.
2-1 down in the match, and 5-1 down over the tie, Laguna were frantically searching for a way back into the fixture against Cruz Azul in the Mexican League semi-final second leg.
But this was not the way to do it. Quintero clearly handballs the ball into the back of the net. He appears to signal a guilty plea after hearing the referee's whistle.
But his appeal for clemency goes unheeded, and the referee gives him his marching orders.
Check out the footage in the video below - with special thanks again to 101greatgoals.com for putting it up first...
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms