Six teams banned from post-season

Published Add your comment

Football News

Six teams have been banned from the NCAA post-season after the release of the annual academic progress ratings (APR) on Tuesday, while UConn have been reinstated following marginal improvement in their scores.

NCAA guidelines require programs to keep a four-year rolling APR of at least 900 rating points or a two-year rolling APR of 930, or they will be banned from post-season competition.

Accepting this fate for college basketball after the most recent review are New Orleans, Florida International, Grambling State, Mississippi Valley State, Arkansas-Pine Bluff and Alabama State.

Arkansas-Pine Bluff and Mississippi Valley State face the ignominy of second successive post-season absences, with neither colleges able to improve their ratings to reach the required standards set by the NCAA.

FIU miss out just a year since posting one of their best seasons in over a decade, with a multi-year rate of only 858 - some way below the APR threshold and a year after a score of 909.

The Panthers will also receive a practice time reduction having failed to meet the NCAA guidelines.

March Madness

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again