World Cup Russia 2018


Two Premier League stars nominated for UEFA Best Player award (1)

Published 28 Comments

Football News

UEFA has released its 10-man shortlist for the 2012/13 Best Player in Europe Award - and Champions League winners Bayern Munich dominate.

The Bavarian giants boast four names on the shortlist - no other team has more than one. That reflects the scale of their dominance last term - they were undisputedly the number one team in Europe.

But will they provide the Best Player in Europe? The brainchild of UEFA president Michel Platini, the award was borne out of the old European Footballer of the Year honour.

Last year Barcelona midfielder Andres Iniesta scooped the top prize - to the surprise of Leo Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

This year we're guaranteed to have a new winner, as the Spaniard doesn't make the top 10 this time around.

The ten nominations have been selected by a group of journalists - the shortlist originally included 26 players - and the ten will be whittled down to three on August 6.

Those same journalists will assemble again in Monaco on Thursday 29 August for a live vote. Using a fancy electronic voting ballot the jury of journalists from around Europe will pick a winner from the top three.

The original 26-man 'long list' compiled after the first round of voting looked like this: 

Gareth Bale (WAL) – Tottenham Hotspur FC

Edinson Cavani (URU) – SSC Napoli

Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) – Real Madrid CF

Dante (BRA) – FC Bayern München

Edin Džeko (BIH) – Manchester City FC

Falcao (COL) – Club Atlético de Madrid (now at AS Monaco FC)

Mario Götze (GER) – Borussia Dortmund (now at FC Bayern München)

İlkay Gündoğan (GER) – Borussia Dortmund

Zlatan Ibrahimović (SWE) – Paris Saint-Germain FC

Andrés Iniesta (ESP) – FC Barcelona

Branislav Ivanović (SRB) – Chelsea FC

Javi Martínez (ESP) – FC Bayern München

Philipp Lahm (GER) – FC Bayern München

Robert Lewandowski (POL) – Borussia Dortmund

Mario Mandžukić (CRO) – FC Bayern München

Lionel Messi (ARG) – FC Barcelona

Thomas Müller (GER) – FC Bayern München

Manuel Neuer (GER) – FC Bayern München

Óscar Cardozo (PAR) – SL Benfica

Andrea Pirlo (ITA) – Juventus

Franck Ribéry (FRA) – FC Bayern München

Arjen Robben (NED) – FC Bayern München

Bastian Schweinsteiger (GER) – FC Bayern München

Robin van Persie (NED) – Manchester United FC

Arturo Vidal (CHI) – Juventus

Xavi Hernández (ESP) – FC Barcelona

That's now been trimmed down to just ten players, and the remaining candidates for the Best Player in Europe Award can be found by scrolling through the slides...

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Premier League
Manchester United
Lionel Messi
Tottenham Hotspur
Cristiano Ronaldo

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again