Chelsea announce 2013/14 Premier League Squad

Published 1 Comments

Football News

With the transfer window now shut until New Year’s Eve, all Barclay’s Premier League clubs have finalised both their 25-man first-team roster, and under-21 squads. There are not many surprises on the Chelsea first-team roster; notably, Michael Essien is not omitted from the first team as he was for the Champions League group stage squad. New boys Willian and Samuel Eto'o are listed.

Not seen is summer signing Marko Van Ginkel, who still counts as an under-21, thus he is listed there. The most likely reasoning for this is Chelsea is already at their 17-man limit for the Home Grown Player criteria, so Marco Van Ginkel was omitted from the 25-man first team and placed in the under-21. This does not mean he will not play, as Chelsea can bring up players to their first team from the under-21 as they see fit.

Recently loaned striker Romelu Lukaku also has the odd distinction of being on both Chelsea and Everton’s squads because Chelsea listed virtually every player on their books, including loaned-out players.

Here is the squad as obtained from

Chelsea's 25-man squad:
Player (Home Grown)
Cech, Petr (No)  
Schurrle, Andre (No)
Luiz Moreira Marinho, David (No)
Schwarzer, Mark (No)
De Bruyne, Kevin (No)
Mata Garcia, Juan Manuel (No)
Ivanovic, Branislav (No)
Azpilicueta Tanco, Cesar (No)
Santos Do Nascimento, Ramires (No)
Dos Santos Emboaba Junior, Oscar (No)
Mikel, John Obi (No)
Torres Sanz, Fernando Jose (No)
Ba, Demba (No)
Hazard, Eden (No)
Essien, Michael (No)
Borges Da Silva, Willian (No)
Eto'o Fils, Samuel (No)
Terry, John George (Yes)  
Cole, Ashley (Yes)  
Lampard, Frank James (Yes)  
Cahill, Gary James (Yes)  
Bertrand, Ryan (Yes)  
Under-21 players (Contract and Scholars)
Aina, Temitayo Olufisayo Olaoluwa
Ake, Nathan Benjamin
Baker, Lewis Renard
Bamford, Patrick James
Beeney, Mitchell Ryan
Blackman, Jamal Clint Ross
Boga, Jeremie
Brady, George
Brown, Isiah Jay
Chalobah, Nathaniel Nyakie
Christensen, Andreas Bodtker
Clifford, Billy
Cole, George
Colkett, Charlie
Collins, Bradley Ray
Conroy, Dion John
Courtois, Thibaut
Cuevas Jara, Cristian Alejandro
Dabo, Sheik Mohamed Fankaty
Davey, Alex James
Delac, Matej
Feruz, Islam
Gnahore, Ambrose Gnahoua
Hazard, Thorgen Ganael Francis
Houghton, Jordan
Kalas, Tomas
Kandi, Luke Chike
Kane, Todd Arthur Lucien
Killip, Ben
Kiwomya, Andrew Alexander
Lalkovic, Milan
Loftus Cheek, Ruben
Lukaku, Romelu Menama
McEachran, Joshua Mark
Mitchell, Reece Steven
Muleba, Jonathan
Musonda, Lamisha Chashi
Musonda, Tika Kafusha
Musonda, Charles
Nditi, Adam Eric Richard
Oliveira Dos Santos, Wallace
Omeruo, Kenneth
Palmer, Kasey Remel
Pappoe, Daniel Mills
Perica, Stipe
Piazon, Lucas Domingues
Pirez Araujo, Jhon Alexander
Saville, George Alan
Ssewankambo, Isak Ssali
Swift, John David
Twasam, Christian Atsu
Van Ginkel, Wulfert Cornelius
Wright, Kevin

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Premier League

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again