Jose Mourinho: My Chelsea team won 2010 title

Published 2 Comments

Football News

Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho believes 'his team' won the Premier League title in 2010 - despite the fact he had left three years earlier.

The Portuguese tactician was replaced by Avram Grant in 2007 after he chose to leave Stamford Bridge due to an apparent disagreement with Chelsea owner Roman Abramovich.

Grant was later succeeded by Luiz Felipe Scolari and Guus Hiddink before Chelsea won the league title in 2010 under Carlo Ancelotti.

However Mourinho believes he should be credited for Chelsea's 2010 Premier League title triumph as it included several i his signings including the likes of Didier Drogba, Ashley Cole and Ricardo Carvalho.

Speaking to FourFourTwo magazine, Mourinho said on Chelsea's success after his departure: "It is funny. You see the Chelsea team that played for the last eight years. I was only here for three and a half of them, but for eight years, it was my team.

"There were new players coming in every season, of course. That is normal, but the team that won the three Championships [2005, 2006 and 2010] was the same."

Mourinho also hinted that he would be responsible for any future success Italian manager Carlo Ancelotti has at the Santiago Bernabeu.

He added: “Look at Real Madrid this year. If you change Mesut Ozil for Gareth Bale, the team is the same.

“The Inter team was [also] the same for two years after me, until they decided to sell the players on big salaries.”

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Premier League

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again