Jose Mourinho charged after Chelsea dismissal

Published 1 Comments

Football News

Jose Mourinho has been charged with improper conduct by the FA after being sent to the stands during his side's 4-1 victory against Cardiff, reports the Evening Standard.

Mourinho is likely to face a fine and avoid a ban due to the nature of the dismissal that saw him sit with Chelsea fans after Anthony Taylor gave him his marching orders.

The Chelsea manager was sent off by the referee after a number of heated exchanges between the pair following several controversial incidents in the game.

Most controversially of all was Chelsea's equaliser, which saw Samuel Eto'o kick the ball away from Cardiff goalkeeper David Marshall after bouncing the ball.

The goal stood but FIFA rules indicate such an incident should have been given as a foul.

Portuguese manager Mourinho insists he has no sympathy for last season's Championship winners and says they were more at fault for time-wasting than Eto'o was for cheating.

He told reporters: “If I was paying for my ticket, I would be worried with the fact that every time the ball was out or stopped and our opponent had to put the ball back in the game, it took an average of 21.5 seconds.

“You pay your ticket and every time the game stops you have to wait about half a minute? When you multiply that by the number of times the game was stopped... you pay for 90 minutes, but you see 55 or 60 (minutes of football).

“For me, that’s breaking the rules."

Mourinho continued saying that the Stamford Bridge outfit have had more than one decision go against them during his two spells in charge and has praised Eto'o for his "intelligent" actions.

He continued: “We lost a semi-final in the Champions League (to Liverpool in 2005) and the ball didn’t cross the line. That is a rule. He (John Terry) was crying in the dressing room.

“Samuel did an intelligent action. When I arrived home, the first thing I told my kid, who like to play goalkeeper, ‘See the goal and don’t do that, eh?’ And he’s 12.

“FIFA says that it’s a foul, it’s a foul. But I think Samuel did well.

“Maybe the referee did wrong, I don’t know to be fair.

“The goalkeeper has six seconds to have the ball, correct? They had almost half a minute. That’s breaking the rules.”

 The Chelsea boss has until 6pm on Thursday to respond to the charge and will be fined £8,000 if he accepts it.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Premier League

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again