Top 10: Golden Boy award nominees 2013 (1)

Published 4 Comments

Football News

Italian sports newspaper Tuttosport has today published its list of 40 nominees for the 2013 Golden Boy award; an accolade given to Europe's most exciting young player, and chosen by football journalists.

First established in 2003, the title boasts an illustrious cast list, with Barcelona star Lionel Messi, AC Milan striker Mario Balotelli and Manchester City's Sergio Aguero among the former winners.

Rafael van der Vaart was the first recipient of the Golden Boy award after impressing in his early days at Ajax, and Manchester United marksman Wayne Rooney became the first Premier League player to scoop the prestigious prize in 2004.

Cesc Fabregas is also among the past winners after impressing during his early days at Arsenal, while Manchester United midfielder Anderson is perhaps the most surprising inclusion after he picked up the trophy at Old Trafford in 2008.

Real Madrid wide-man Isco won the award last year following a scintillating season with Malaga in 2012/13, but who will follow in his footsteps by claiming the 2013 crown?

Click through the tabs - above or below - to check out GiveMeSport's top 10 contenders, and see the other 30 nominees below…

Richmond Boakye (Elche), Emre Can (Bayer Leverkusen), Yannick Ferreira Carrasco (Monaco), Sebastian Cristoforo (Sevilla), Lucas Digne (PSG), Victor Fischer (Ajax), Fred (Shakhtar), Serge Gnabry (Arsenal), Mauro Icardi (Inter), Juan Iturbe (Verona), Geoffrey Kondogbia (Monaco), Mateo Kovacic (Inter), Diego Laxalt (Bologna), Nico Lopez (Udinese), Adam Maher (PSV), Lazar Markovic (Benfica), Alexsandar Mitrovic (Anderlecht), Mbaye Niang (AC Milan), Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Brayan Perea (Lazio), Juan Fernando Quintero (Porto), Josip Radosevic (Napoli), Rafinha (Celta Vigo), Ante Rebic (Fiorentina), Yaya Sanogo (Arsenal), Tiago Ilori (Liverpool), Oliver Torres (Atletico Madrid), Tony Vilhena (Feyenoord), Vitinho (CSKA Moscow).


Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again