FIFA Coach of the Year nominees revealed

Published Add your comment

Football News

Former Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has been nominated for the 2013 FIFA Coach of the Year award.

The Scot, who retired at the end of last season after winning a record 13th Premier League title with the Red Devils, is joined on the list of three by Jupp Heynckes and Jurgen Klopp.

Heynckes is the early favourite to win the prestigious individual accolade. The German coach, who also retired at the end of last season, signed off by helping Bayern Munich secure a historic treble.

Klopp, meanwhile, masterminded Borussia Dortmund's run to the Champions League final.

The Bundesliga outfit were eventually beaten 2-1 in the final at Wembley Stadium by Heynckes' Bayern, who also won the German league and cup titles last season.

Heynckes was succeeded in the summer at the Allianz Arena by ex-Barcelona coach Pep Guardiola, while Ferguson helped select David Moyes as his successor at Old Trafford.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Manchester United

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again