ODI preview: England v Australia

Published Add your comment

Football News

England continue their fierce rivalry with Australia at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday morning as they go head-to-head in the first of five One Day Internationals as the tourists look to regain some pride.

The 50-over format begins just a week after Michael Clarke guided his team to a 5-0 Ashes triumph which left England humiliated after high hopes leading into the series. Alastair Cook has been boosted by seven fresh faces in a revitalised squad which includes all-rounder Ravi Bopara and wicketkeeper Jos Buttler.

Ashley Giles will take over the coaching reigns with Test coach Andy Flower back in the UK as he joined a number of players to fly home, including Kevin Pietersen, Jimmy Anderson and Jonny Bairstow. The ECB have since confirmed Stuart Broad will miss the first two ODI fixtures as he recovers from the rigours of the Ashes.

The pace man was the top wicket taker for England as he claimed 21 Australian scalps in the five Test series but he will miss the opener at the MCG and the match in Brisbane next Friday. That leaves Tim Bresnan and potentially Steven Finn to lead the attack without the experienced Anderson and recently retired Graeme Swann.

Eoin Morgan is the most senior player that wasn’t involved in the Ashes with his 107 ODI caps which included captaining his country in the most recent 50 over series which they lost 2-1 to Australia.

He will add much needed experience to the squad that also includes Chris Jordan, Danny Briggs and recently called-up Chris Woakes.

Meanwhile, Australia coach Darren Lehmann has revealed Ashes Man of the Series Mitchell Johnson will be given a rest from the opening ODI on Sunday before returning to face England at the Gabba Next Friday under the leadership of Clarke.

The third fixture is hosted at the Sydney Cricket Ground before the series moves on to Perth before the final ODI at Adelaide on Sunday 26th January. A T20 series is then spread over five days with matches in Hobart, Melbourne and Sydney which concludes on Sunday 2nd February.

Australia ODI squad: Michael Clarke (C), George Bailey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, David Warner, Shane Watson.

England ODI squad: Alastair Cook (C), Gary Ballance, Ian Bell,
Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Michael
Carberry, Steven Finn, Chris Jordan, Eoin Morgan, Boyd Rankin, Joe Root, Ben
Stokes, James Tredwell, Chris Woakes.

England cricket
Australia cricket

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again