Speaking on the NFL Network yesterday, the league's Vice President of officiating Dean Blandino said the play "was a legal hit." Blandino further explained:
"The first potential foul would be for offensive pass interference; a receiver can't block downfield before the ball is touched, so the timing is important," he said. "The contact occurs, the ball is touched almost simultaneously. We don't have a foul for pass interference.
"The other thing, is it unnecessary roughness? Under the current rules it isn't. It's not late; Talib wasn't out of the play. Unfortunately there was an injury, so just like in other situations when an injury does occur, the competition committee will take a look at this and determine if there needs to be a change. But under the current rules, this is a legal play."
The words will not do anything to calm down Patriots coach Bill Belichick, who was incensed by his former players actions calling it "one of the worst plays" he's seen in his 39 years as a coach.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms